weekend bits n bobs

These guys were frolicking all over the lawn Saturday morning….

deer 1

In between down pours we went for a walk in the creepier part of our woods….

woods

rows of giant evergreens, dead from the waist down, an eerie half tree graveyard

woods 5

sorta looks like “where the wild things are” or an Ent about to walk…

woods 3

Inspired by all the baby greens I harvested…

salad dressing

I’ve never been one for Ranch, Italian, French, Blue Cheese (although I could be persuaded on this one), Thousand Bloody Island, or whatever other fan dangled names out there.   All I know is that the dressing isle in the supermarket is HUMONGOUS and completely unnecessary, I mean come on people, do we really need all that choice?

If I’m making you a salad your going to get a drizzle of good olive oil, good vinegar (Banyules, Sherry, aged Balsamic) and a nice pinch of exotic salt (Murrys Pink River, Malden, Fleur de Sel). Mainly because I’m a lazy arse and I don’t think salad requires anything more that.  But, if you’re on the receiving end of a Mr Weiss salad, then he’s going to go to the trouble to actually make a dressing, which as you know is more that I can say for myself. God bless him.

Dressing

4 tbsp good olive oil
2 tbsp sherry vinegar
juice 1/2 lemon
1/8 tsp dry mustard
1/4 tsp old bay seasoning
salt & pepper

Combine everything, preferably in a jar and shake, or alternatively in a bowl and whisk. Your choice.

We had it with this…

stuffed pots

Double Stuffed Potatoes

2 medium potatoes, microwave on high 5 mins until you can pierce with a fork. Wet the outside of the skin with water and rub with kosher salt.  Place on baking sheet in oven at 375F for 20 mins until skin is crispy.  Split in half, scoop out flesh into a bowl.  Add 2 tbsp butter, 1/3 cup grated cheese, diced onions, any fresh herbs (oregano, parsley, thyme) 1/4 cup, salt and pepper, basically whatever you like to add to your filling.  Scoop back into potato skin and bake another 10-15 mins.

pot meal

Sauteed Broccoli Rabe

1 bunch rabe, roughly chopped and blanched.  Saute 3 cloves garlic in olive oil until just golden add broccoli rabe, salt and pepper heat through.

AND finally a big thanks to all those who weighed in on the Rhubarb vs Burdock debate, with the final identication being definitely BURDOCK… the funny thing is now that I have a name to the unknown I can see that it’s everywhere around here, like triffids on the side of the road.  It has now been beheaded, but I didn’t have enough time to dig that sucker out, seeing as it’s roots are most likely all the way to China, it might take me awhile!

5 Comments

  1. Posted June 16, 2009 at 5:12 pm | Permalink

    yummy!! Reading this made me so hungry I made a pb&j sandwich… which didn’t really live up to my dreams of double stuffed potatoes..lol.

  2. Jill
    Posted June 16, 2009 at 8:03 pm | Permalink

    Hey! finally some wild life that doesnt make you scream! LOL 🙂
    Lunch looks yummy also…

  3. VigneronRowland
    Posted June 16, 2009 at 11:22 pm | Permalink

    nice, i like how your trees are all in rows, just like in Europe, thats highly unusual here. (when we first too my grandfather from London to the Adirondacks, he actually said “gawd, they planted these trees awefull close together.”)

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 17, 2009 at 4:07 pm | Permalink

      i guess the lower parts of the trees dying are due to they are planted to close together…

  4. Posted June 17, 2009 at 5:04 pm | Permalink

    I am a dressing hater too and on occasion, I’ll buy one of the giganto bottles at the store hoping it will be put to use and after one tasting, it sits in the fridge unused for months.

    i’m an olive oil/vinegar/s&p chick all the way and it’s nice to see someone else on that train.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*