lemon almond cake

Whilst I’ve been amusing myself up at the wee house, oh you know, killing freshly planted flowers, mowing over small trees and screaming every half second at anything moving beneath my feet, Mr Weiss has been to Florida, NYC and back upstate.  As his reward I baked this cake, but perhaps I should have made him a t-shirt “I’ve been working like a dog and all I got to show for it is a lousy cake!”

I was rifling through some cookbooks looking for inspiration and came across a recipe for orange almond cake…. I rummaged around to find what I did and did not have (uh oranges), but I did have some frozen fresh meyer lemon juice….. and promptly changed it to …

Lemon Almond Cake (adapted from the cookbook “Eat Fee Autumn Winter” by Anne Bramley

3/4 c ground almonds

1/2 c  sugar

2/3 c milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 c flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3/4 c (1 1/2 stick) unsalted butter softened

1/3 c fresh squeezed lemon juice + zest 1 lemon

1 heaping tbsp lemon thyme leaves (optional)

Butter and flour a 9 inch spring form pan. Heat oven to 350F.

In a bowl combine milk, eggs and vanilla.  With a standing mixer stir to blend the flour, 1/2 c sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt.  Add the softened butter, mix until blended.  Combine the lemon juice with the ground almonds and then on low speed alternately add half of the almond mixture and half of the egg mixture, beating well in between additions. Repeat.

Pour batter into prepared pan.  Bake 50-55 mins, until toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Cool on rack.

This cake is delicious, really moist, we had already devoured a quarter of it, when I thought “you know what would make this even better? a glaze”.

Lemon Glaze

3/4 c sifted powder sugar

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp honey

1/4 c lemon juice and zest.

Melt the honey, butter and juice in microwave until all combined.  Add to powder sugar, stir and pour over cake.  Ta daH! Our household was divided over the glaze, Mr Weiss preferred it without, whilst I loved the extra lemony goodness.

what are you waiting for? it’s the weekend already… I suggest whipping one of these up.  Let me know how it goes….

4 Comments

  1. jesika
    Posted May 14, 2010 at 8:16 pm | Permalink

    Ooooo, weird! I’m all set to make an orange almond cake this weekend! Lemons sounds much better tho. I made Andrew a macadamia, coconut and lime cake for his birthday and it has a great lime icing that makes me think I’d be in the lemon glaze camp with you!

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted May 14, 2010 at 10:16 pm | Permalink

    hey spooky!! we are totally on the same wave length, hey love the sound of the macadamia, coconut and lime cake, do you have a recipe to share?

  3. Posted May 15, 2010 at 7:21 pm | Permalink

    YUM!!!!!!!! Both the macadamia, coconut and lime cake and the lemon/almond cake combine all my favourite flavours.

    I think I’ll have a crack at a slightly modified version of the cake tomorrow. Thanks!

    @ Jesika, I’d also love that receipe. 😀

  4. Kyung Yi
    Posted July 12, 2010 at 12:28 am | Permalink

    Just made a lemon blueberry almond cake and wanted a glaze. Tried the one here, and it’s yummy! I misread and combined all 4 ingredients before putting them in the microwave. It still turned our great!m Thanks!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

