cucumber and chive

Unfortunately I cannot take credit for this genius recipe, I would try, but Mr Weiss would no doubt rat me out.  It’s based on one of our favorite Chinese dishes, cucumber with scallion sauce.

Since we didn’t have any scallions but still a PLETHORA of chives, I mean I am inundated with chives. I’ve now chopped them down twice and they are still coming back…. TRIFFIDS I tell ya.  Anyway he made this delicious cold dish and you can use as many chives as you want and now that we are buried under a mountain of cucumbers, its the perfect recipe!

my cucumbers, um yes they are yellow and brown… hmmm, different? yes they are poona kheera variety and super CRUNCHY.

Cucumber with chive sauce

1 bunch chives

equal parts sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce. (about 2 tbsp of each should do the trick)

Blend everything together and toss over your cut cucumbers. Not really a recipe, but I’m sure you get the idea.

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 13, 2010 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    I just made this recipe with garlic chives. So much easier than the cucumbers / scallion recipe that I made a few weeks ago.
    Thanks for the suggestion. Sometimes we need reminders that the simplest things are often the best. Thanks!

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted August 13, 2010 at 9:02 pm | Permalink

    hey glad you like it! garlic chives… yum

  3. Posted August 14, 2010 at 8:26 am | Permalink

    nyum nyum. I want to try! In fact *rootles around in fridge* I have got some cucumbers in here… thanks!! 🙂
    PS – you could always make a big batch of raita and then give it away?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

