not green bean cassarole

Mr Weiss says  “it’s just like traditional green bean casserole”, “it is?” say’s I, “you mean the one with a can of creamed soup dumped all over beans and then a can of crunchy onions on top of that, do you mean that one?”, me again… “yip”, him,  hmmm since this recipe has neither a can of soup or a can of onions anywhere near its goddam vicinity, then I don’t really see how they are similar, and whilst I have heard of the horrification he is mentioning, I guess I can consider myself lucky that after 20 years of living this side of the world, none of my good ole American friends has ever foisted this revered dish upon my taste buds.  PHEW is about all I can say to that.  Sorry but the word wretched also springs to mind right about now.

The green bean inspiration came about when I trotted down the still somewhat new Freshtown supermarket in Margaretville and I have to say it did not take long before the bloom to be off the rose.  After stunning us punters with fresh, crisp displays of produce (NOT like the A&P before it), the produce section today however was looking decidedly sad and dejected, everything kinda limp and wilting.  OH NO, I had high hopes for this store, once the farm stands dry up its the only source of FOOD around these parts and its hitting the skids already…. but the green lining was some rather fresh looking beans, where they came from is a mystery, although the tag did say “eastern grown”, but I just think someone might be pulling me leg, I mean have you seen MY garden pictures…..

beans-full

Warm Green Bean Salad

1 1/4 pds green beans, trimmed

3 cloves garlic sliced

2 shallots chopped

1/4 cup panko (breadcrumbs)

1/4 cup asiago cheese grated

olive oil

zest of 1/2 a lemon (why not the whole thing? well the other half was a bit greenish and its all I had) work with me people!

Stick a pot of boiling water on, blanch the beans till crisp tender about 2 mins, dump in colander to drain.

Heat 1 tbsp oil in pan and saute the garlic to golden brown, transfer beans to serving dish and dump on the garlic, next add another tbsp of oil and saute the shallots 2 mins, add breadcrumbs, keep sauteing until golden brown, toss over beans with zest, cheese, good pinch of salt and pepper and a light drizzle of good olive oil.

beans-veggies

grilled veggies (mixed peppers, red onions, green & yellow zuchinni) marinated firm tofu (tamari, garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, olive oil) chimichurri sauce recipe here.

potatoes

Par boil 3 potatoes (we used red skinned) cut into chunks, toss with chopped garlic, rosemary, salt & pepper, drizzle with olive oil, wrap in tin foil and bung onto the grill

beans-plated

yes yes I know when Mr Weiss and I like something we eat it ALOT!

3 Comments

  1. Mame Johnston
    Posted April 17, 2009 at 5:27 pm | Permalink

    Your food photos are so appetizing and no, I can’t believe you found any of that in Margaretville! Why do you think I moved back to NC? The choices are sorely lacking in that area, to be sure, until the farmers’ markets open in mid-May. It’s a good thing you get your fix in NYC! Did you sample any of the maple syrup yet? It’s pretty amazing stuff.

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 17, 2009 at 5:31 pm | Permalink

    Hi Mame, hey i did just see a big display (its and end cap) on the isle of your son’s? maple syrup company.. will get some the next time i go running through the “produce section” HA

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 17, 2009 at 5:32 pm | Permalink

    Hi Mame, hey i did just see a big display (its an end cap) on the isle of your son’s? maple syrup company.. will get some the next time i go running through the “produce section” HA


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

