Rainbow Chard & White Bean Soup

Yes I know its summer and I’m making soup…. but people I am literally up to me ear holes in chard, and I can barely look at another stalk let alone try stuffing any more in my gob… soooo in anticipation of a long long winter… I am whipping up batches of soup! You go girl, well I certainly don’t mind if I do.

Chard & White Bean Soup

1 cup dried great northern beans (soaked overnight)

4 cloves garlic

1 onion chopped

bunch carrots (baby or large cut into 2 inch pieces)

1 qt veggie stock

1 bunch chard stemmed and cut into large pieces

sprig oregano

Place beans and garlic in large pot with water, add sprig oregano, rosemary, sage and bay leaf.  Bring to a boil and simmer 1 hour until beans are tender.  Drain. Discard herbs.

Rinse pot and add 2 tbsp olive oil, saute onion (why a picture? coz this one came from my friggin garden that’s why!)

s

add carrots, salt and pepper, saute until just tender

s1

add beans… do do do doooo

s2

add broth, and herbs la la la lahhhhh

s3

now let this simmer away about 20 minutes or so, while your waiting grab your chard and chop the stems off, yes I know they are very pretty and you can leave some, but get rid of most, go on.. I’m watching…

s4

very good, now before you add the chard, grab your magic wand, otherwise know as this… and give it a semi blend, I like to have a mixture of smooth with chunky bits here and there.

Then add the chard.

s5

simmer another 15 mins or so, and season with salt and pepper. Makes 2 quarts.

soup

When the garden’s hidden under 2 ft of snow this winter, this will be a nice reminder.

7 Comments

  1. Posted August 25, 2009 at 1:20 pm | Permalink

    Darn you are sooo organised. Cant wait till my veggies are agrowing so i can do the same. You go!

  2. Sarah
    Posted August 25, 2009 at 2:35 pm | Permalink

    I’m impressed! Have some chard sitting in my fridge and LOTS of dried beans… Might just have to do this.

  3. Posted August 25, 2009 at 2:59 pm | Permalink

    This looks great! I am from Cooperstown and spend a lot of time there, still. Last weekend I was up there making apricot jam! I appreciate you spending your time upstate, it is a wonderful place.

  4. Mame Johnston
    Posted August 25, 2009 at 6:57 pm | Permalink

    T,
    Don’t know how I’d ever cook without a stick blender any more. They are the most handy tool in the kitchen, after silicone spatulas and hot pads! This looks delish.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 25, 2009 at 7:16 pm | Permalink

      I know they are really the best!

  5. Posted August 27, 2009 at 1:05 pm | Permalink

    save those stems for a chard gratin! http://www.thewednesdaychef.com/the_wednesday_chef/2008/07/alice-waterss-s.html

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 27, 2009 at 4:54 pm | Permalink

      great idea!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

