shrimp & broccoli

So I’m about to jump on the Melissa Clark bandwagon and be the umpteenth person to post about this recipe.

When I first saw this on The Wednesday Chef’s blog, I immediately thought, now I’m being brutally honest here,  “how disgusting” and “that sounds terrible” but talk about don’t judge a book by its cover…..since then I have seen this recipe repeatedly endorsed by shrimp and broccoli lovers that are coming out of the woodwork raving about how great it is…. so I decided to give it a go.  Generally I’ll eat anything roasted but this particular combination just seemed plain wrong.

Turns out the only thing that was wrong, was me. I pretty much, well for me, followed recipe with a couple of tweaks and I’ll explain why, first I had a bunch of broccoli but I had no idea what the weight was, so I just used the whole thing and I didn’t cut it into “bite sized pieces” as called for, because the only shrimp I could get up here were friggin huge, not large like the recipe calls for, these were behemoth, most likely jumbo, so I cut my broccoli bigger to complement their size.

Up here it’s slim pickings for seafood, but I did discover one gem, the Main Black Bear Seafood Company on Route 28 in Arkville.  He has a small selection of the usual fishy suspects, and isn’t open everyday, Thu-Sun I think, don’t show up before 2pm coz you’ll be left cooling ya heels, but it is worth it, his stuff is quality!

So without further ado, may I present to you Melissa Clark’s Shrimp & Broccoli.

shrimp-6-up-copy1

yip-we-ate-the-whole-thing-too2

yip we ate the whole thing too!

2 pds broccoli, cut into bite-size florets
4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/8 tsp hot chili powder
1 pd large shrimp, shelled and deveined
1 1/4 tsp lemon zest
Lemon wedges, for serving

Heat oven to 425 degrees. In a large bowl, toss broccoli with 2 tablespoons oil, coriander, cumin, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 tsp pepper and chili powder. In a separate bowl, combine shrimp, remaining 2 tbsp oil, lemon zest, remaining salt and pepper.

Spread broccoli in a single layer on a baking sheet. Roast for 10 minutes. Add shrimp to baking sheet and toss with broccoli. Roast, tossing once halfway through, until shrimp are just opaque and broccoli is tender and golden around edges, about 10 minutes more. Serve with lemon wedges, or squeeze lemon juice all over shrimp and broccoli just before serving.

One Comment

  1. Mike
    Posted February 23, 2009 at 2:27 pm | Permalink

    I wish I had some of that shrimp and broccoli.

    I love your blog!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] recipe might show up sometime later… we kept some fresh to eat and this week as I will make this again.  Which by the way if you haven’t made yet and you like both broccoli and shrimp, what […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

