brown sugar cookies

I was tooling around in the car the other day stopping off at various local antique barns, trawling for treasures and I came across someone’s handwritten, magazine clipped recipe book… it included this one.

brownsugarrecipe

Right up my alley…

minimal ingredients – check

handwritten – check

no instructions – check (bit of a crap shoot on this one but hey)

cookies – CHECK!

So I put the oven on at 375F, figuring this is a pretty inoffensive temperature…. creamed the butter and sugar together, added the flour, 2 eggs whisked into the water and baking soda, added this, threw in some raisins mixed it well, used a small ice cream scoop (about a tbsp) size portion out the dough onto a greased cookie sheet and baked them for about 12 minutes.

This is what they looked like…

cookie2

um YUK!, yip YUK.   I do not like cookies like this, skinny flat and to me, just not appealing looking… hmmm so I threw in another 1/2 cup flour, remixed it, re-scooped and bunged it back in the oven.

Then they came out like this….

cookie1

to me this looks better, but I didn’t really like these either.   Mr Weiss informed me that the first version is an old school AMERICAN CLASSIC, and that this is how what they are supposed to look like… oh whoops, maybe I should have run that by him before adding more shit to the recipe.

So anyway you choose, either use 2 cups of flour OR 3 cups of flour for a more cakier cookie.  They did taste pretty good, but me I won’t be racing to make this one again.

cookie

7 Comments

  1. Rowland
    Posted September 10, 2009 at 4:29 pm | Permalink

    lol yea cookies are definatly suppost to be flat, at least here they are. sheesh, if cookies were cake, they would be called cake, not cookies!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 10, 2009 at 6:58 pm | Permalink

      good point!

  2. Posted September 10, 2009 at 5:07 pm | Permalink

    the flat ones look so much more appealing and yummier (if thats a word). I agree with Rowland. A for effort

  3. gloriakp
    Posted September 10, 2009 at 6:41 pm | Permalink

    I have never seen a recipe that calls for dissolving the baking soda or powder in water. As soon as it is mixed with the water it begins to lose its leavening power quickly.

    Usually it is sifted together with the flour, then the dry and wet ingredients are mixed together.

    I’d try that if you make them again.

  4. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted September 10, 2009 at 6:58 pm | Permalink

    i know weird right? i’ve never seen the dissolve thing either.

    • Rowland
      Posted September 11, 2009 at 9:42 pm | Permalink

      maybe the writer had a time machine and made the special instructions and placed them in the past cause they knew youd try to make them all cakey!

      … isnt it facinating (from an anthropological perspective) how reletivly subtle variations in the shape and appearence of a cookie can affect its precieved taste/enjoyment by members of different cultures (and as far as cultures go, not very different ones at that).

  5. Posted September 13, 2009 at 5:02 pm | Permalink

    Don’t matter if the tasty are good it is that matters, I think you should put more yeast,

    kiss!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] named my own cookie, like it or lump it, but I LOVE it!  I felt I had to redeem myself from the brown sugar cookie fiasco… so with the help of coconut and quinoa, we came up with a cookie packed full of stuff […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

