bonanza

My beloved no nonsense Nan had the coolest name, Zeta.  Don’t you wish your silver haired, 4 ft tall grandmother was called this? How many Zeta’s do you know, coz other than her, I’ve never heard of any, and Catherine Zeta Jones does not count!  But my Nan was always Bonanza to me, I used to come skipping into her house, singing the theme song to the t.v show Bonanza (with  Lorne Greene, Michael Landon and the big dude who played “Hoss” riding on in with me) and I don’t mean only as a kid either, I visited right before she died, a year ago, and still greeted her this way.  But then I also thought that everyone else in the family called her this, it wasn’t until after she died that I found out I was the only one.

Bonanza sat in the same chair for 30 odd years, she loved watching rugby and cricket, was skilled at crocheting, enjoyed a good hot cuppa (if you were hanging out at Nan’s with her you had at least 5-6 cups per day) and the biscuit tin was always brimming.  She did not suffer fools gladly,  played a mean game of lawn bowls, loved doing the crossy (crossword puzzle), drove a teeny tiny silver car that was immaculate, until my mother drove it into the garage door, we dubbed it the silver bullet.  Was always dressed as neat as a pin, her “tipple” was brandy and lemonade but there was the mystery bottle of blackberry nip (not sure what this actually is) but there it was, a dusty bottle in the back of her cabinet, next to the Englebert Humperdink (I did not make this name up!) and Neil Diamond records.

My sister even took her to a concert at the ripe ole age of 78, to see the legendary Mr Neil Diamond. Fortunately, well for my sister at least,  it wasn’t a Tom Jones concert.  For those of you not aware of this little nugget of information, allegedly the suave satin shirt wearin, hairy chest exposin welshman, Mr Tom Jones, used to whip the ladies in the audience into such a frenzy that they were prone to ripping off their panties and throwing them on stage at him, swoon, swoon.  THANK GOD it was the in-control, gentlemanly Mr Neil Diamond, oh yes thank god!

I like to think of my Nana up there in Nana heaven with all the silver haired set, hanging out, having tea, playing bowls, cracking each other up and occasionally looking down at us grandkids and thinking “yeah they’re doing alright”.

nan-recipe

Let me know if you need any help deciphering the handwriting…

cauli

cauli-plated

the verdict…..

absolutely delicious! we had it with Mr Weiss’s homemade Chana Masala and some Saag Paneer, from a packet (the poor relation to our 2 homemade dishes!)

7 Comments

  1. Jill
    Posted March 28, 2009 at 1:38 am | Permalink

    What an awesome tribute to our Nan! Cheers Tones XX

  2. Posted March 28, 2009 at 2:11 pm | Permalink

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  3. j
    Posted April 7, 2009 at 10:50 am | Permalink

    Could you decipher? I’m having trouble making out the middle part of the instructions. Did she make her own curry powder?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted April 7, 2009 at 11:06 am | Permalink

      Hi j, so glad you are making this it’s really yummy, anyway 1 tbsp store bought curry powder, 1 onion finely chopped, pumpkin seeds, sugar are the middle ingredients.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted April 7, 2009 at 11:09 am | Permalink

      Tsp amounts of sugar 1/4 cup water….hope this helps!

  4. Sylvia Orzel
    Posted August 17, 2009 at 5:42 pm | Permalink

    Love your site! Friend just sent it to me.

    Your Nan’s handwriting is beautiful!! Can read it so well, as I was born to a wonderful woman from Scotland, my Mum, who wrote in the same script. I’ve never seen anyone else with this handwriting style! So it warms my heart, dear Catskill Kiwi, as my Mum passed away long ago, in 1991, at the very young age of 65.

    You’re making me very homesick, as I now live in Los Angeles, but was born and raised outside of Buffalo. Beautiful country area, with a large garden, deer, pheasants and cows mooing.

    You put a smile on my face everyday with your blogs. Thank you, and please thank Mr. Weiss, as well!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 17, 2009 at 5:58 pm | Permalink

      please come back and visit anytime… thanks for your very kind words!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] to do with it anyway, but I bet you can slice it up, got some cauli leftover from bonanza’s “curried cauliflower”, chop it into florets and bung it all […]

  2. […] Curried Cauliflower […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

