potato fish fritters ala Nan

I made these for dinner last night… another Nana classic

fishfritters

NO I will not make you decipher, I will translate, but I do get a kick out of little old lady penmanship. It’s such a blast from the past and I’m not talking about my past,  just THE PAST, as in the times before computers. Now none of us can scribble anything other than an illegible signature,  but we can type circles around each other, now can’t we,  I wonder how that will work out for us all.

But in the meantime, you should definitely make these for dinner, it went well with this and don’t forget a nice big slice of lemon on the side.

fishplate

Potato Fish Fritters

1 lb cod (no skin or bones)

2 medium potatoes peeled, boiled and cut into 1/4 inch cubes

3 scallions thinly sliced

1/2 red pepper finely chopped

2 tsp old bay seasoning, 1/4 c chopped parsley, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper

2 eggs lightly beaten

1 – 2 tbsp flour (to bind)

veg oil & butter for frying

fishfritter

Roughly cut the cod into small pieces (about 1/2 inch) put into a bowl with spring onions, potato, red pepper and all seasonings.  Mix well.  Sprinkle the flour over,  add the egg mix and combine.  Heat 2 tbsp oil with 1 tbsp butter in a non stick pan, over medium heat, add heaping spoonfuls to pan, shallow fry for about 3 mins each side until golden brown. Serve with lemon. Serves 4-6 (2-3 fritters per serving).

fishfry

10 Comments

  1. Mame Johnston
    Posted May 21, 2009 at 5:11 pm | Permalink

    Toni,
    If I could only get fresh cod in NC these would be perfect for my sweet husband and myself. They look amazingly good! Thanks for sharing.

    Mame

  2. Posted May 21, 2009 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

    That’s so cute! I have recipes in my grandma’s handwriting too!

  3. kim
    Posted May 25, 2009 at 6:10 am | Permalink

    These look good! I have old recipes from my gran too (for waffles) written in her her local dialect, funny.

  4. Posted May 29, 2009 at 10:04 pm | Permalink

    Those sound so delicious!

  5. Julie wheeler
    Posted June 5, 2009 at 2:34 am | Permalink

    Hi Toni and Nate. Where did Nan get that fish fritter recipe from I wonder? I mean who has ever heard of creole sauce back then, or even now, for example. Hope all is going well with you. Love the pics of Paris, especially the unique car flower container.Is’nt it a beautiful city?
    Love, Julie.
    Ps.
    Thanks for your lovely comments about holidays at Okura. We enjoyed them as much as you it seems.

  6. Posted July 18, 2009 at 10:58 am | Permalink

    I think I’ll make this tonight(!yeah!), although I do have to use frozen cod. The handwriting looks like ‘375 fish fillets’.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 18, 2009 at 12:15 pm | Permalink

      yeah it does, maybe grams? I used about a pound i think, these are really delicious!

      • Posted July 18, 2009 at 4:17 pm | Permalink

        Yeah, that makes sense. It would be just a couple ounces under a pound.

    • Posted July 18, 2009 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

      Excellent meal! Lots of leftovers too! Thanks for the great recipe.

      • thecatskillkiwi
        Posted July 18, 2009 at 8:48 pm | Permalink

        AWESOME! actually I always have leftovers too, it does make quite alot, but I frozen the remainder in a plastic container and we just finished off the fritters the other day, they were still great.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Fish Fritters […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

