Roasted garlic and cauliflower soup

This is a quick whip me up soup… I had frozen fresh cauliflower florets left over from a summer stash.  They defrosted a little limp to do anything else other than mash them into a soup.  So I did.

Roasted Garlic & Cauliflower Soup (serves 4)

1 head roasted garlic, cloves removed from skin

1 medium onion chopped

1 lg shallot chopped

1 small head cauliflower cut into florets

1/4 tsp oregano

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

3 cups stock

1/2 cup heavy cream

Heat butter and oil in a large pot.  Add onion and shallot and saute until tender and slightly golden about 5-7 mins.  Add cauliflower, and saute about 10 mins.  Add stock, roasted garlic, oregano, nutmeg and a big pinch of both salt and pepper, stir and simmer 20 – 25 mins, or until the cauliflower is fork tender.  Whip out your immersion blender and puree until desired consistency, just don’t tell me you haven’t bought one yet?? Come on these things are indispensable in the kitchen, think of the alternative, lugging out the blender, pouring the hot soup in, having it explode all over the kitchen, then you curse the day you ever started reading The Catskill Kiwi and all hell breaks loose, all because you haven’t bought this yet.  Oh well…. don’t say I haven’t warned you, repeatedly!    Add cream, reheat gently. Adjust seasoning and serve with a big loaf of crusty bread and gobs of butter.

6 Comments

  1. Posted December 16, 2009 at 4:38 pm | Permalink

    Mmmmm . . . cauliflower. This looks so good! You know, I have an immersion blender, and it pains me to say it, but it just doesn’t do the job as well as the regular old jar blender. The soup just isn’t as smooth as I want it to be. I’m a big fan of pureed veggie soups, and I’ve gone back to the old method. Perhaps my hand blender is a crap version. What kind do you use?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted December 16, 2009 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

      cusinart… works like a charm!

  2. Posted December 16, 2009 at 4:48 pm | Permalink

    I just may make this soup this weekend!

  3. Mame Johnston
    Posted December 16, 2009 at 9:19 pm | Permalink

    I am unable to cook any more without my immesion blender! It’s so incredibly handy and easy to clean now that I have one with a removable blade mechanism on the handle. Great invention!

  4. Mame Johnston
    Posted December 16, 2009 at 9:24 pm | Permalink

    Sorry! I type faster than I spell, obviously. That would be immeRsion blender. Duh!

  5. Jill
    Posted December 16, 2009 at 11:01 pm | Permalink

    I clicked on the link to the immersion blender and noticed that you have your own special recommendations linked to Amazon. Nice!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

