lessons in gardening…

Okay some things I have learned so far… like weeks ago when the beets, radish’s and carrots all started sprouting and you thought then that this was the MOST exciting thing BUT also felt too bad to thin out the seeds… I mean it seemed sacrilegious to rip em on out just when their life was beginning, doesn’t it?  Well now weeks later,  because YOU DIDN’T thin those suckers out, they have no room to grow, so that, coupled with my impatience to actually wait until things ARE full gown has resulted in a multitude of “mini” veges!!

b

Case in point… but the good news is when they are this small, tender and tiny, you don’t have to bother peeling the beets which as we all know is a real pain in the bottom, not too mention the mess on your hands, oh lordy… so here’s a simple method to cook your beets on either a grill OR oven, mess free.

Roasted or Grilled Baby Beets

1 bunch baby beets

4-6 cloves of garlic skin on

sprig rosemary, good olive oil, big pinch salt and pepper

Decapitate beet tops, rinse place on foil sheet, toss with rest ingredients…

b2

wrap into a parcel.. like so…

b3

Bake 400F for about 20 mins, until tender when pierced.

b4

And because my plant is overrun with zucchini flowers… i decided to chop em down and try cooking these instead of waiting… hardly a surprise now is it?

zuch

Fried Zucchini Flowers (adapted from Tyler Florence)

1 large egg yolk

1/2 c ice water

1/2 c flour

grated zest and juice 1/2 lemon

12 small zucchini flowers trimmed, carefully washed and patted dry

z1

vegetable oil for frying, good sea salt

z3

Mix egg, water, flour and lemon together to make a batter, dip flowers in shaking off excess.

Heat oil, shallow fry until golden brown.

z4

drain on paper towels and sprinkle with salt, serve with lemon wedges.

z5

z6

11 Comments

  1. Posted August 14, 2009 at 10:26 am | Permalink

    Mmmm . . . it all looks so delicious! I actually love peeling beets. If you steam them whole with skin on, then run them under cold water and given them a little squeeze, the skin slides right off. I love that feeling!

  2. Posted August 14, 2009 at 10:27 am | Permalink

    give them a little squeeze, is what I meant!

  3. Posted August 14, 2009 at 12:44 pm | Permalink

    yum. i’ll eat anything fried! even pretty squash blossoms!

  4. Posted August 14, 2009 at 9:05 pm | Permalink

    I’m on break from my university, and hungry rsrs, this dish must be very tasty! I wish one day I can pick my vegetables and greens …

  5. Jill
    Posted August 14, 2009 at 9:11 pm | Permalink

    Have you tried stuffing the insides of the courgette flowers with a smooth cheesey mixture? yummy. I love these deep fried, yours look tasty.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 14, 2009 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

      i would have stuffed them with goat cheese or ricotta, but i didn’t have either of these, so plain they were, maybe next time.

  6. Posted August 15, 2009 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    i love beets and i also love to peel them…they really do feel really cool in your hands!
    thanks for the recipe for beets….i hope to try this when we get our grill working again!

  7. Posted August 16, 2009 at 2:48 am | Permalink

    I’ve never had zucchini flowers, but they look delicious… and gorgeous!

  8. Monique
    Posted August 19, 2009 at 11:43 pm | Permalink

    Ms Brogan! See I do look at your blog sometimes . . . I really love it, and you! Sorry you don’t hear from me much but you know how it is . . . I only get a chance to email at work and at work I have to work! Maybe I should send you a pen and paper letter – my home computer is on the blink at the mo. Send me your address on email.
    Love to you and Nato!
    Mon xx

  9. Posted August 22, 2009 at 10:19 am | Permalink

    your blog is great! This looks so good and yummy!

  10. carrieitly
    Posted August 24, 2009 at 9:30 pm | Permalink

    Stuff the blossems with good quality (i.e. water-packed) mozzarella like we do in Italy!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

