cupcake comfort

Yesterday I wasted the whole day and I absolutely hate that.  I hate waste of any kind, be it time, energy, money, food, my rapidly diminishing good nature, you name it if its being wasted then you can damn well guarantee it I will be making squinty evil eyes at it.

Still bedridden with back spasms from the pitchforking shoveling incident yesterday, the pile o poo is turning into the gift that keeps on giving, whether its the smell, or creatures of the buzzing flying kind and now temporary incapacitation.  I am sooo kicking myself we didn’t just back the car up at the good ole Home Depot and load in sanitary bags of nicely organized garden soil,  yip lesson learned for next year.

So with the pitchfork dropped in favor of a fork I am CAREFULLY negotiating my way around the kitchen in need of something sweet which should be make me mentally feel better and that’s something, for now at least. I’ll be damned if I’m gonna spend another day lolly gagging around in bed, I’ve had enough.  I will get myself into the kitchen on hands and knees if need be and produce something other than wincing gasps of air, okay okay dramatic I know!

If you have read this, you will know that I am somewhat a fan of chocolate and peanut butter (have the baking soda at the ready!) and any excuse is good enough for me to whip out the Skippy and crank up the Kitchen Aid. So I will consider this the alternative to having a sixteen candles kinda moment, where the bride to be has thrown down a handful of muscle relaxants so that she is a blithering, incoherent, dribbling mess… I will stuff my face instead, that should do it.

cupcake2

Chocolate Cupcakes w/- Peanut Butter Frosting OH MY!

1/2 c unsweetened cocoa (Ghirardelli is a good brand for baking)

1 c hot water

1 1/3 c flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 stick butter/8 tbsp (room temperature)

1 c sugar

2 eggs (room temperature)

2 tsp vanilla extract

Oven 375

Mix the hot water and cocoa together to a paste, cool.  Whisk flour, baking powder and salt together.  In a standing mixing cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, break in eggs one at a time, beat until smooth.  Add extract and dry ingredients, mix in and then lastly add cocoa and water, mix until incorporated.  Fill muffin cups 2/3 full.  Bake 15-18 mins, until toothpick is clean and top springy.

cupcakebite

and NO I couldn’t wait to ice all of them.

Frosting

1 c peanut butter

1 stick butter/ 8 tbsp (softened)

2 c confectioners sugar (sifted)

2 tbsp milk

Cream the butter and peanut butter together, add the sugar and milk.  Beat the hell out of it.

Cupcake recipe adapted from The Joy of Baking and frosting adapted from Allrecipes.com.

4 Comments

  1. Posted May 1, 2009 at 5:31 pm | Permalink

    looks damn delicious but eeeewwwwwh peanut butter icing, sorry ill have to draw the line at that. Kraft (the only one) peanut butter only goes on crunchy vogels toast with butter.

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted May 1, 2009 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

    hey don’t knock it until you’ve tried it!

  3. Sarah
    Posted May 4, 2009 at 11:13 am | Permalink

    Love the new illustrations!

  4. Posted May 4, 2009 at 11:58 am | Permalink

    chocolate + peanut butter = best. combo. ever.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

