bowls and beets…

This past weekend I legged it down to DC to help a friend with group show at the Corcoran Art Gallery.  It was really fun and I am a huge fan of my very talented friend and her ceramics check them out www.stephaniebasralian.com.

My collection so far…

they are all hand built and mostly wood fired with unique glazes… each one comes out so completely different they are gorgeous, I already have my eye on the next purchase.

Love the glaze inside this one, going to look fabulous sitting out on my counter with crap in it!

We had a great dinner Saturday night that featured a beet salad with brown butter vinaigrette.. YUM.  Mr Weiss and I promptly recreated the dish when we got home and I suggest you try it too… its a real winner. And yes I stopped by the DC Farmers market and lugged a bag full of veggies back on the train.

Beet Salad

I used a combination of large golden beets and small chioggia or candy stripe beets but you can use whatever is around, it just looked prettier using the different colors.

2 bunches of beets, trimmed washed and scrubbed

2 cups field greens

Dressing

4 tbsp butter

2 tbsp good vinegar (sherry or white balsamic is the best)

1 tbsp water

salt & pepper

Place same sized beets in pot covered in water… bring to a boil and cook about 20 mins until beets can be pierced through with a skewer.  Drain, rinse until cool enough to handle.  I usually grab a couple of paper towels and then slip the skins off the beets, they will come right off.

Cut into wedges, toss with greens.

In a small saucepan, heat butter and gently brown until dark golden. Cool 5 mins, transfer to blender, add vinegar and water and blend to emulsify. Add pinch salt and pepper pour over salad.

One Comment

  1. Posted October 24, 2012 at 4:14 pm | Permalink

    gorgeous, I remember Mom doing a pottery class when we were kids then she acquired herself a potters wheel, think it only lasted for 6 months but we STILL have bowls and cups like these, I love the rawness they are beautiful.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

