not my banana bread recipe

It seems that every man and his dog is reading this book…. and with good reason, it’s inspiring, its interesting (finished in 3 days, but I did have other things to do) and I will probably make about 65% of the recipes.  There’s a lot of salads in this book which is just a bit too healthy for me,  but there’s a tonnes of other I-wanna-make-this-right now recipes that I will work my way through, and seeing as I’m looking at a bunch of banana’s that are more black than yellow, they are screaming to be turned into her banana bread recipe, which caught my eye with its inclusion of chocolate and crystallized ginger, can you spell Y.U.M.

So now I’m faced with a of bit a conundrum, seeing as I am fairly new to all things cyber and blogging in particular, I have absolutely no idea whether I’m allowed to post this fabulous recipe here without the fear of being blacklisted by a lynch mob of irate food bloggers,  who will have me guts for garters for this possible(?) infringement upon their community code of ethics…. I have mentioned that this IS NOT MY RECIPE, right? and that it comes from MOLLY WIZENBERG’S new book, “A HOMEMADE LIFE”, and that I am not in any way shape or form trying to encroach upon her artistic license…. I just happen to really like banana bread and chocolate and ginger for that fact.  Dear god save my soul.

I will be sleeping with one eye open tonight!

Ingreds

6 tbsp butter melted

2 cup ap flour

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup semi sweet choc chips

1/3 cup chopped crystallized ginger

2 eggs beaten

3 bananas mashed up

1/4 cup yogurt

1 tsp vanilla

(PS just because I couldn’t help myself and I didn’t want to discriminate against nuts, I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts)

Oven 350F grease loaf pan.

Whisk flour, salt, baking powder, sugar.  Add chocolate chips, ginger and if using nuts.  In another bowl add mashed bananas, melted butter, yogurt, eggs, vanilla, whisk it all up.  Add this to flour bowl and stir to totally combine.  Scrape into loaf pan, smooth top, pop in oven for about 50 mins, and do the toothpick drill, you know, where it comes out clean.

Slice, eat and thank MOLLY WIZENBERG for this recipe!

One Comment

  1. Posted March 20, 2009 at 10:43 am | Permalink

    Toni – you are hysterical. So glad to find your blog! Sarah sent me the link. As for other people’s recipes – as long as you credit them and – even better – include a link to them or their book or their recipe, you can reprint the recipe with no fear! 🙂

    Hope to see you soon
    Luisa


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Yum, recipe here […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

