cbs

This, my friends, does not stand for that crappy network channel… but the universal abbreviation for getting things on the cheap, who doesn’t love the “cheap bastard special, and I especially love it when applied to food.  Check it out….

veggies-4-copy

Fiddleheads $4.50 a pint at the Farmers Market or $7.99 per pound at Whole Foods

Artichokes $3.00 for 2 at Whole Foods

Corn $2.00 for 3 at Whole Foods

Rhubarb $3.79 per pound at Food Emporium Union Square

overhead-veggies

SCORE!  Dinner for roughly a tenner, you gotta love that.

Fiddleheads, kinda reminds me of something my mother used to say, not fiddleheads, but fiddlesticks.  It’s said when she doesn’t believe you, like maybe when you’re trying to “pull the wool over”.  For example

says me  “but seriously mum the dog TOTALLY ate my homework”

says mother, “oh fiddlesticks”

She also used to say “well jolly hockey sticks” but that’s another story.

They also remind me of this…

fern1

a native fern of New Zealand, but I wouldn’t want to try eating this!

Sauteed Fiddlehead Ferns

1/2 pd fiddleheads, rinsed well and stems trimmed and pull off anything weird looking

2 cloves garlic chopped

zest 1 medium lemon, pinch salt & pepper

1 tbsp olive oil +  1 tbsp butter

Boil a pot of water and give the fiddleheads a quick blanche, serioulsy quick, like about a 1 min.  Drain, then heat oil and butter gently in pan, cook garlic until translucent , add fiddleheads and saute until just tender about 3 mins.  Toss in lemon zest and season, eat immediately!

8 Comments

  1. Posted May 11, 2009 at 5:16 pm | Permalink

    Dear T, the very young tender shoots of ferns are a delicacy called piko piko, apparently a bit like asparagus…

  2. Gabriel
    Posted May 11, 2009 at 8:56 pm | Permalink

    Go back to Whole Foods Union Square. The corn was 3 for 99 cents this weekend and delicious!

  3. rosie
    Posted May 12, 2009 at 3:16 am | Permalink

    love the new site design – never ever thought of eating ferns very wierd looking

  4. Posted May 12, 2009 at 4:51 am | Permalink

    I’m finding it very strange that I grew up eating fiddleheads and now I’m down here eating feijoas. I think we may be upside down. Let me know if you want to change places for perhaps one or 2 hours, and then we can be magically transported back.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted May 12, 2009 at 9:36 am | Permalink

      I am so jealous of your feijoa eatin days… beam me down scotty! HAHA

  5. sandra (another kiwi
    Posted May 12, 2009 at 6:04 am | Permalink

    http://www.maorifood.com/medicinal.htm go the piko piko!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted May 12, 2009 at 9:35 am | Permalink

      wow cool website, thanks for passing that on!

  6. Posted May 12, 2009 at 3:14 pm | Permalink

    YUM! I do love a good CBS, too! Yesterday Mark Bittman posted a Cream of Spinach Soup, and I was so excited about it, I changed my dinner plans and made that instead. Incredible–and an ultimate CBS–the whole thing cost me about $6.50 (USD). I was so inspired, I wrote about it on my own blog:

    http://read-n-eat.com/?p=554

    Bottom line, if you get your hands on some cheap, fresh spinach, try it!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Sauteed Fiddleheads, recipe here […]

  2. […] sauteed fiddleheads, recipe here. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

