the fever continues….

Well so far spent my year furiously weaving…. and I have to tell you I am hooked… completely. utterly, like I want to quit my job and play with yarn all day, hooked.  It’s the creative outlet I have been looking for without realizing it and it satisfies my love of texture, textiles and fiber which can be rolled into one big shaggy wall hanging.

I have been refining my “style” in the hope to be completely original with my work. I love abstract art and have been free form weaving using different techniques and yarns to create texture within the piece.. I love geometric shapes so circles are becoming a part of wall hangings… here’s some of the last pieces I have made.

DSC_0280DSC_0298

IMG_5628IMG_5639

Its wonderful, time consuming, hair pulling but completely satisfying! Instagram houses an entire community of creatives that are all along for the ride, not just weavers, but ceramists, jewelry makers, clothing, print making, dying.. its amazing all the things going on out there in the world. I am so happy to be part of it.

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Jill
    Posted November 18, 2014 at 2:01 am | Permalink

    Mrs Weiss! WOW, you blew me away, such great colours and textures. I love the charcoal/black combo. BUT…. The rust colour one is my favourite! Maybe it’s a child of the 70’s thing I don’t know. Just awesome x

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted November 18, 2014 at 8:48 am | Permalink

      Thank you! The Greys and my Homage to the 70’s I sold wholesale to a store in Santa Monica, they are heading out there this week. 🙂

  2. Posted December 18, 2014 at 7:26 am | Permalink

    I think you’re doing an awesome job ‘refining’ your style. Raising a small flock of ‘colorful’ Shetlands, I’m particularly attracted to all your ‘natural colored’ weavings and OH MY GOODNESS the yummy texture!! I enjoy formal/symmetry (in the garden too), but, am smitten with your freestyle. I love when you add a little ‘poison’ to your piece too… something unexpected! I’m saving my pennies to purchase one of your masterpieces one day!! Truly an inspiration! Keep up the good work!!

    Jenny

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted December 22, 2014 at 9:40 am | Permalink

      Thanks so much Jenny!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

