beets me

Since I had a butt load of beets left over from my friggin amazing my cold buttermilk borscht (toot toot!!), I decided to try my hand at a hot version…. after this, I can say with certainty,  I’ve had me fill of beets for awhile.

Hot Borscht

1 large onion chopped

2 medium sized potatoes chopped

4 carrots chopped into 1 inch chunks

3 lg beets (scrubbed really really well to remove any traces of dirt) VERY IMPORTANT, unless you like dirt in ya soup.

1/2 small cabbage shredded

4 cup beet liquid cooking liquid

2 cups vegetable stock

3 tbsp chopped fresh dill

1 tsp salt & pepper

Place the whole beets in a pot and cover with water, about 2 inches above beets.  Bring to a boil and cook until fork tender about 35 mins.  Strain, reserving beet cooking liquid, when cooled slightly remove skins and cut into 1/2 inch pieces.  Set aside.

In a large stock pot, heat 2 tbsp olive oil and saute onions until translucent (about 3 mins), add potatoes, saute another 4  mins, add carrots, give everything a big stir, add salt and pepper cover with stock and beet liquid, simmer 25 mins. Finally add the beets, cabbage and dill, simmer another 2o minutes.

hot borcht

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

