creamed spinach

Dinnertime in N.Z., growing up, the most horrifying thing to be put in front of you, hands down, has got to be silverbeet, a poor man’s relation or brutish rogue cousin to spinach.  Its tough white stalk and thick gritty leaves were ALWAYS chopped and boiled into oblivion.  Every kid HATED silverbeet and just to spite us all it grew like weeds (which is more like what it is) in the back garden.

One famous dinnertime, when a steaming pile of silverbeet was presented to us at the table, my sister boldly said “I’m not eating that,” a sentiment we all echoed silently (thank god!). My mother calmly turned around and replied “You’ll eat it or you’ll wear it.” Unfortunately my sister’s response was “I’ll wear it.” My mother promptly reached into the HOT bowl of offensive matter, picked up a huge handful and lobbed it straight into her face, hitting her square in the eye, whilst muttering “I guess you’ll be wearing it then”.

I don’t really remember what happened after that, but I do know nobody made a peep about being served silverbeet ever again.

Nate made us a piece of haddock crusted with coriander, sesame seeds and panko to accompany our creamed friend.

Creamed Spinach

2 cloves garlic chopped

2 shallots chopped

16 oz spinach

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp flour

3/4 c cream

3/4 c milk

1/2 tsp nutmeg, big pinch salt & pepper

Blanch spinach in about 1 inch water in skillet, until tender, drain, squeeze excess water out and chop.

Melt butter in same skillet add garlic and shallot and saute a few minutes until translucent.  Add flour and mix in well, cook another couple mins.  Add milk and cream together and heat (I nuked it for a minute) add into pan, stirring constantly, smooth out any lumps.  Simmer over lowish heat for a minute, add in spinach and seasonings, stir to combine and simmer gently until everything is incorporated, 2 mins more.  If throwing use a spoon!!

7 Comments

  1. Sarah
    Posted March 10, 2009 at 4:11 pm | Permalink

    I am Laughing out loud!

  2. Gabriel
    Posted March 11, 2009 at 12:06 am | Permalink

    I’ll never look at silverbeet the same way again. Not that I ever looked at silverbeet before but this whole experience has ruined it for me.

  3. Jill
    Posted March 11, 2009 at 5:31 am | Permalink

    Funny thing artistic license!! loved the story, but I remember it another way… love your sis

  4. lisaschweitzer
    Posted March 11, 2009 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    too funny!

  5. Jan
    Posted March 11, 2009 at 5:18 pm | Permalink

    Dont blame me! I can’t remember….. senior citizens pass!

  6. Janelle
    Posted April 1, 2009 at 4:02 am | Permalink

    ok, i have to say that this recipe seemed like too much trouble for me…BUT i made it anyway and it was so good, that both of my children (one of whom has not eaten any other veggie except for cherry tomatoes for the last two weeks-terrible two’s) scoffed this down like it was candy! so i will make it again, thanks!

  7. Posted August 29, 2010 at 9:41 am | Permalink

    Here is a recipe for The Berghoff’s famous creamed spinach:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/the-berghoffs-famous-creamed-spinach/


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] this day do not eat jelly (jell-o),  dry old chops, all kids horror, the ever lurking presence of silverbeet.  Risoles, which despite this glowing description, certainly didn’t end up this way in our […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

