sauce

I have gone on before about how much I hate waste so when I noticed some heirloom tomatoes leftover from a job looking decidedly sad, instead of depositing them into the compost bin, I thought I would throw together a quick and easy fresh tomato sauce to be used in or on something at a later date…

sauce-copy1

Method I used..

4 cloves garlic sliced (yes I really like garlic)

1 shallot & 1 onion, chopped.

saute this together with 2 tbsp olive oil

chop tomatoes into largish chunks, I used 4 medium sized, add to pot along with good big pinch of salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, dried oregano and italian herbs. Simmer gently until tomatoes break down and liquid is reduced, it didn’t take long.

3 Comments

  1. Sarah
    Posted February 20, 2009 at 2:28 pm | Permalink

    Should have given you mine… They ended up a smooshed mess in my dad’s fridge. So sad!

  2. Stephanie
    Posted February 22, 2009 at 9:21 am | Permalink

    This is great, I’ve been meaning to throw together my own sauce….love the step-by-step photos.

  3. Stephanie
    Posted July 22, 2009 at 11:04 am | Permalink

    Finally just made a batch now to use up a backlog of tomatoes. Really delicious, and so simple this is the best recipe to throw together sauce an not have to wait long to eat. Love it, winter (when I first posted) or summer.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Tomato Sauce recipe here, I added 2 tbsp shredded fresh basil to this […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

