radish pesto

I know I know, last again to jump on the proverbial band wagon, all the “go getters” were writing about this at the beginning of summer… but in my defense these only took 23 days from seed to get these…

radish0

after gobbling my way through our first bed of radish’s the gorgeous looking Misto Rose, I realized I wasn’t done with the radish fix just yet…

radish

delicious just with salt…

radish1

but inspired from the leaf decapitation I made my own radish pesto

radish3

Radish Pesto

1 medium sized bunch radish tops

2 cloves garlic

1/4 c toasted pinenuts

juice half a lemon

2 – 3 tbsp olive oil (depending on how thick or thin you like your pesto)

1/4 tsp salt

Place the ingredients (except olive oil) in food processor blend, drizzle in olive oil, blend again.

5 Comments

  1. Posted September 14, 2009 at 5:33 pm | Permalink

    Interesting. Are the radish tops as spicy as the roots?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 15, 2009 at 9:10 am | Permalink

      not as spicy as the roots, but they do taste radishy.

  2. Posted September 14, 2009 at 6:37 pm | Permalink

    yum

  3. Stephanie
    Posted September 16, 2009 at 9:13 pm | Permalink

    Cool, I’ve been wasting the leaves every time I buy a bunch at the farmers’ market, having no idea they were edible. Seriously, I always put beet greens in soups, but never thought about eating radish greens. Any other suggestions genius?

  4. John Scott
    Posted September 18, 2009 at 12:03 pm | Permalink

    Brilliant!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

