risotto

So last night I made a truly unforgettable dinner, okay “truly unforgettable” maybe not, but it was really really good and totally inspired by the fact that I found some crusty old bag of dried porcini mushrooms waaaaay in the back of the cupboard that I’ve had for god knows how long.

Upon inspecting I found that it had a recipe for risotto on it…  now normally I shy away from ANY kind of rice, unless its sushi grade.  I find white rice bland, boring, on the verge of being labeled “devils food” and a complete waste of my eating time.  That said I did have some arborio in the cupboard,  so risotto it is…. unfortunately, as I have discussed at length with my friend Amy, who suffers from the same affliction, neither one of us can follow a recipe without suddenly adding a bit o this and a bit o that to it and by the time I’m finished it could be a different meal entirely.  This one only veered a little of course with the addition of garlic (always,) lemon zest (crucial in this), fresh thyme and the porcini soaking liquid… yum

ps the picture does not do the food justice!

risotto1

Risotto

1 cup arborio

1 can veggie broth heated

1/2 cup white wine

25g 0.88 oz dried porcini, (or dried mixed mushroom medley soaked in warm water for 30 mins, strained and cut into pieces, reserve the liquid about 1 cup (add to veggie broth)

1/2 cup grated parmesan

zest one lemon

2 cloves garlic  minced

2 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp fresh thyme leaves

1 onion chopped

Melt butter, add onion and garlic, cook until golden, add rice and olive oil, stirring constantly until rice turns white, add 1/4 cup wine, stir this until it evaporates, (all done over a lowish flame), add in the mushrooms, then add the hot broth a ladle at a time, stirring and only adding more liquid when moisture is aborbed, stir less often, watch it! then when almost done, throw in the last 1/4 cup wine, lemon zest, cheese, thyme leaves, have I forgotten anything? ok now your done!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

