Wild Man Weiss’s Chili

It’s only March people, lets put those parasol’s away just yet, we still have potential snow on the horizon and in honor of that…..

Wild Man Weiss’s Chili

1 bag Morningstar Farm Meal Starters (its fake ground beef) you could use the real stuff about 1 lb

1 onion chopped

2 cloves garlic chopped

4 peppers (any kind, we used 2 green, 1 red, 1 orange) chopped

2 x cans crushed tomatoes (we used Muir Glen fire roasted, particularly good for this) but any kind will do

2 x cans red kidney beans (optional see ps below!)

1 1/2 cup water

2 tbsp olive oil

spices: 1 tsp salt & pepper, 2-3 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp paprika, 2 tsp oregano, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

chili 3

In a large pot, saute onions in oil until translucent, add meat stuff cook until brown-ish, add peppers and garlic, cook 5 mins, add water, stir, add all seasonings….stir, add tomatoes and beans, if using, last big stir, cook over a low heat, covered, about 30 mins more.

chili 2

Toppings we like: chopped onions, sour cream, shredded chedder (say YES to cheese!)

chili 4

UPDATE!! 3.8.2008

ummmm so okay, I have a slight confession to make….. Mr Weiss and I went off to the Schoharie Country Antique fair today, which was rather good by the way.  I managed to add a few more old jars to add to my collection in the pantry, and as I was commenting on one of the larger jars and how it would be big enough to store all my dried red kidney beans…….. it suddenly occurred to me, why do I have all those beans? and then the horror of realization set in to both me and Nate at the same time…. “Uh Oh they were supposed to go into the chili!” umm so yes…. Wild Man Weiss’s chili is missing out on one of the key ingredients., THE BEANS. ( I have subsequently amended the original recipe to add 2 cans red kidney beans, I’m in no position to preach the purity of using dried beans).  So you can look at it a couple of ways,  especially if beans are not agreeable with you….. “its great to have a chili recipe that doesn’t have any beans, how novel”,  or “Oh how I wish I could make this chili recipe, too bad there’s beans in it” or even marvel at the fact that the chili recipe is really really good, regardless of it missing out on those damn beans….  I can see my hard earned street cred flying right out the window.

You can thank my obsessive jar collecting for the memory jog, if your a bean lover that is….. your welcome!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

