wonder bread?

Ah white bread the bane of my youthful existence….. the staple of the 70’s diet, the words “I’m hungry”, the answer “well have a piece of bread then”.  I think I can also remember going through a phase where I used to turn my entire dinner plate into a giant sandwich,  and when I wonder back to those questionable culinary choices of what we used to eat, my stomach does a little lurch with horror.

Fried bread, yes my mother used to make this for us… and it’s exactly how it sounds, bread. fried. in FAT, yes FAT, or LARD or whatever word you can feel better about,  probably neither.  White bread, fried in about 1/2 inch of drippings.  The more shocking thing about this little revelation is, that I can remember actually liking it… okay how about this one, tomato sauce sandwiches.  White bread, with butter (remember the thing with kiwi’s and butter…. don’t get in between them, no matter how piss poor you may be, there will always be a block of butter in the fridge), and then a generous squirt of tomato sauce (what you people call ketchup) and that’s called lunch.

When we’re busting out the fancy pants there’s this concoction called “fairy bread”, don’t ask me why I have no idea, but that’s the name for it.  White bread with butter and then hundreds and thousands sprinkled on it.  Now I asked Mr Weiss if he knew what “hundreds and thousands” where, after a blank look and then my explanation that they are teeny tiny little colored balls that you may actually decorate cupcakes with, he offered up “nonpareils?”.  Which now leads me to my bread piece de resistance, the “fluffy egg nest”, yes people this is actually what it’s called.  This one is a little more complicated and I can’t imagine why anyone would go to this much trouble for essentially a snack, but I do remember screaming home from school and whipping up one of these bad boys.

Fluffy Egg Nest

Under a broiler, toast one side of white bread, flip over and smear untoasted side with vegemite (optional of course) add some slices of cheese and melt.  Next separate an egg, beat the white until soft peak fluffy and spoon onto the cheese, yip that’s right spoon it on, then drop the egg yolk into the center of the whites.  Place under broiler until egg white is browned and yolk cooked.  (I’m sure there is a whole world of problems with this “recipe”) but I’m telling you we used to eat these all the time and I think I’m ok????

uncooked-fluffy-egg-nest

cooked-fluffy-egg-nest

PS…. um I do actually eat other things than just bread or toast……

PPS…. well 2 things are going on here 1. is that I do indeed eat ALOT of bread and 2. is that I actually think I eat alot heathier than I do…… take a look at today’s lunch….

chip butty

chip butty

WHOOPS!

6 Comments

  1. Posted March 21, 2009 at 7:25 pm | Permalink

    What- Fluffy Ducks! I haven’t heard of them since school- you’ll have everyone thinking New Zealand is a culinary wasteland! Just kidding- bring on the marshmallow slice, coconut ice and lamingtons, now your talking…

  2. Posted March 21, 2009 at 7:27 pm | Permalink

    Hi Toni, Didn’t you have marmite and chips (crisps) on white death in your lunchbox? Bet you did! Oh and the fried bread memories made my mouth water ( or something)

    Now __ , we often have avocado on toast for breakfast but one of my favourites is sardines on toast, (King Oscar double layer from Norway if you can get them) but any will do, topped with finely sliced onion and sliced gerkin then drizzle the oil out of the sardine can over the top YUMMMM! Also good with Horseradish sauce.

    Cheers Hi to Nate

    Paul

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted March 21, 2009 at 7:30 pm | Permalink

    Lamington’s are on their way!! HA

  4. Jill
    Posted March 21, 2009 at 7:33 pm | Permalink

    Oh big sigh…! my childhood memories coming up before me! Glad you where game enough to actually make one, and eat one! thanks for the memory trip

  5. Posted March 24, 2009 at 10:19 pm | Permalink

    You crack me up – just giggled my way through this post.

  6. Kiwi Kev
    Posted September 28, 2010 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

    Put on the Vegemite? And you call yourself a Kiwi? If you were a real Kiwi you would know that only Marmite rules!!!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] the meantime here’s some recipes to amuse yourselves with,  here, here, here, here and here.  See you all next week. This entry was written by thecatskillkiwi and posted on […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

