a staple

My friend Amy, Executive Chef from Angelica’s Kitchen in NYC and creator of the shiny new blog coconutandquinoa gave me this….

wwpasta

I immediately winced, hoped she didn’t see me and shoved it in the back of the cupboard, lets just say I’m not a fan of whole wheat.  I’m barely a fan of pasta but I do have my exceptions, linguine and penne, any of those other weird unholy shapes just makes me gag and I’ve definitely never eaten any “whole wheat” types either.

So when I announced to Mr Weiss last night that I was going to make my pasta staple, using whole wheat fettuccine he winced, but it was out of shock (I should mention right here too, that it was the only pasta we had left).

This is a good solid basic dinner that I’ve made oodles and oodles and oodles of time, and you most likely will have all of these ingredients on hand any day of the week.

pasta-1

I’m not exactly sure what to call it,  Mr Weiss knows that when I announce “we’re having linguine for dinner”, exactly what he’s getting… so maybe I’ll just call it “Linguine” and maybe after you’ve made it a few times, you will too.

Linguine (please ignore the fact that I’m actually using Fettuccine, I will go back to my regular Linguine eatin days once I’ve hit up the supermarket)

1 medium onion sliced or shallot sliced or combo of both

3 cloves garlic sliced

1 lemon juiced and 1 tbsp zest

4 tbsp chopped parsley and oregano

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, big pinch of both salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1/3 c hard cheese (parmesan, pecorino or romano is good)

Place big pot of salted water on to boil for pasta, when its at a rolling boiling throw your pasta, (I use 1/2 a packet for the 2 of us), give it a big stir and set timer as per package instructions.  After about 5 mins saute onions, garlic and crushed red pepper flakes, until golden brown, add salt and pepper, herbs, lemon zest and juice give a big stir.  Drain pasta, reserving 1/2 cup of water, add to saucepan, give everything a big toss, add cheese and serve.

pasta-plated

Verdict: I ate two heaping plates of the stuff, so I am giving this the big thumbs up.

Disclaimer: This does not however extend to any other horrifying whole wheat weird shaped brand of pasta.

7 Comments

  1. coconutandquinoa
    Posted June 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm | Permalink

    Toni!!! So glad you ate it and liked it. I’m sure there are other “whole wheat” delights just waiting for your “thumbs up” seal of approval. Can’t wait to introduce the next one….don’t worry it won’t be the whole wheat scones (even though they’re delicious!)
    Thanks for the mention,

    xx

  2. gloria puester
    Posted June 23, 2009 at 5:39 pm | Permalink

    I’m not crazy about whole wheat either, bit I have found pasta is not-so-bad perhaps because sauces are spicy enough to cover the flavor.

    I’ve made similar sauces to yours without the lemon and we have enjoyed them. I’ll have to try it your way. Thanks!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 23, 2009 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

      the lemon really makes it.

  3. Jill
    Posted June 23, 2009 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    we’ve got a product I sometimes used called “San Remo” it is austalian, but I won’t hold that against them! The pasta products are Gluten free, Dairy free,egg free, 98% fat free, wholemeal, or wholegrain organic – phew. I prefer fresh made pasta, but this is good cheap alternative for my gluten free tummy!

  4. Posted June 23, 2009 at 7:56 pm | Permalink

    mmmmm that looks yummy!!

  5. Gabriel
    Posted June 23, 2009 at 10:18 pm | Permalink

    Actually the same company “Bionaturae” that makes this whole wheat pasta has a whole line of gluten free pastas and they are excellent! Now about this recipe: I’m guessing that olive oil is needed for the saute. How much?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted June 23, 2009 at 10:21 pm | Permalink

      whoops yes olive oil, about 2 tbsp, i will amend recipe. thanks


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

