berry pickin’

The wee house sits on 10 acres of land, roughly half is mowed lawns…. yes now you know why I am in love with this machine…

machine

Mr Weiss caught me doing donuts, again, this time I took out one of the bird houses (the tally to date being, 2 fruit trees, 1 birdhouse and part of the picnic table),  whoops… anyway the rest of the land is forest and nestled here and there are humungoid patches of blackberries and raspberries, just waiting to be taken advantage of.

This past weekend, armed with containers, we went for our first pickin’s.

raspberry

one of us was very industrious… and the other, spent a lot of time shoveling…

raspberry1

Since this is just the tip o the iceburg in berry-world and we will most likely get the same amount tomorrow…

raspberry2

I decided to cook some…

Peach & Raspberry Tart

3 peaches sliced

2 c raspberries (the berries we picked were pretty tiny, so you may want to use 1 cup normal sized ones, but just eyeball it)

raspberry4

see puny but delicious…

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp ground almonds

1 sheet puff pastry cut to a 8 x 8 inch square

Oven 400F

Heat butter in skillet over low flame, add peaches and sugar, toss and gently cook for roughly 4-5 mins until juices thicken.

Remove from heat and cool.  Prepare pastry, take your 1 sheet puff pastry trim 1/2 strip from all four sides, and press back onto pastry bottom to create a raised border around edges, I ended up with about an 8 x 8 inch square.  Sprinkle ground almonds evenly onto pastry.  Add raspberries to peaches, gently toss and spoon onto base.

raspberry5

Bake 20 – 25 mins until sides are puffed and golden brown.  Serve with either sprinkling of powdered sugar of whipped cream.

raspberry6

oh so good

raspberry7

you know you want some.

12 Comments

  1. Jill
    Posted July 21, 2009 at 7:12 pm | Permalink

    YUM!! I just love berries and berry related recipes! How nice to pick you own on your own land. Mr Weiss looked like he was having fun!

  2. Posted July 21, 2009 at 8:05 pm | Permalink

    Ha ha! Love the photo of you on the mower! And that tart. Mmmmm…

  3. Posted July 21, 2009 at 8:58 pm | Permalink

    i DO want some. badly. will have to try this!!

    thanks!

    xo

  4. Farrah
    Posted July 22, 2009 at 2:36 am | Permalink

    This is my first visit to your blog and my mouth is watering and my daughter is begging me to take her for dessert! Your tart looks delicious.

    Farrah

  5. anna d
    Posted July 22, 2009 at 4:47 pm | Permalink

    toni!
    your photos and recipes are absolutely amazing….

  6. Posted July 23, 2009 at 4:21 am | Permalink

    BWHAHAHAHAA that photo of you on the mower is freaking hilarious!

  7. Maija
    Posted July 23, 2009 at 1:39 pm | Permalink

    ooh, I love the large wood piece in your bedroom. Holy moly, that is gorgeous and so textural. I’m intrigued by how different his work is – the line drawings vs. more sculptural, layered pieces. The line drawings remind me of vintage 50’s magazine pieces, yet when you look closer, they are much darker in topic matter. Ooh la-la, talented friend you have!

    Btw, I am a kiwi by birth, but American-raised since I was 5 (Kiwi mom + American dad).

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 23, 2009 at 1:52 pm | Permalink

      hey thanks for stopping by!! all kiwis welcome…and others of course.

  8. Posted July 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm | Permalink

    This looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  9. Posted July 26, 2009 at 12:19 am | Permalink

    I must save this recipe, it looks amazing!

  10. Posted January 25, 2010 at 9:10 am | Permalink

    Hi! I just stumbled upon your blog.. and not sure now how. But I am a brooklyn dweller (post manhattan, post Californian)who recently has been spending weekends in the country. And this post especially, and many more of yours seemed to resinate with me. For me, it’s like playing pretend when I’m baking and gardening.. I’m just so new to it! I love it. So thanks for sharing, and letting me see how your doing it, along with everything else!

    I wrote a little about you today on my blog:
    http://mommydrinkstyle.blogspot.com/2010/01/marvelous-mondays-favorite-post.html

    Thanks, and be well!
    x
    Suzanne

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted January 25, 2010 at 12:20 pm | Permalink

      hey suzanne thanks for the shout out! hope to have you stop by again, there is plenty more upstate shenanagans in the making!


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Peach & Raspberry tart I’m going to make today. […]

  2. […] huge patches of raspberries, which ripen first, followed by blackberries (my personal fav!) I made this again, but added blackberries into the […]

  3. […] From: The Catskill Kiwi, Berry Pickin‘ […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

