tomato chutney

Still wading through scads and scads of tomatoes… OY VEY and looking up every single tomato based recipe I can think of  (along with reader suggestions, thank you!) I started looking for a chutney to make. Hmmm all of them make chutney for the MASSES, I mean pints and pints of it.  Whilst I do want to use up my tomatoes I also don’t have the space for copious jars of chutney that we would be slathering on everything possible.  So with a few wonky math calculations I managed to scale down one.

Tomato Chutney

8-10 medium sized tomatoes (I used san marzano)

2 sm red peppers chopped

2 onions chopped

3/4 c sugar

1/2 cup white vinegar

1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp celery salt, 1/4 tsp allspice, pinch both of cinnamon and cloves.

1/2 c golden raisins (optional)

Put on a large pot of water to boil, score a X in the top of the tomatoes and blanch for a few seconds, plunge into a cold water bath, peel and roughly chop.

Combine everything in a large pot, simmer and stir occasionally for about 1 1/2 hours.

Keep in air tight containers in the fridge.  It’s great to serve with cheese, on meat, fish and on sandwiches and burgers.

5 Comments

  1. Mr Weiss
    Posted September 22, 2010 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    This chutney is seriously delicious.

  2. Jill
    Posted September 22, 2010 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    Have you thought about Sun Dried Tomatoes???

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted September 22, 2010 at 10:30 pm | Permalink

    I might do slow roasted in the oven.

  4. Posted September 23, 2010 at 5:03 am | Permalink

    I love slow roasted tomatoes! I do this all the time and mix through pasta with olive oil or put on pizzas.

    That chutney looks lovely, my mother in law makes home made tomato sauce and chutneys and I seriously can’t go back to store bought.

  5. Posted September 24, 2010 at 3:07 pm | Permalink

    This looks great! I am going to try it with Smoked Salmon and some Lox tomorrow. Thank you for the recipe!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

