shoveling shrimp

Yesiree Bob, and you will too, once you make this…

Shrimp Scampi (adapted from here)

1 1/2 pds large shrimp peel and deveined

1 stick butter (8 tbsp), softened

zest and juice 1 lemon

1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp salt and pepper

2 sprigs thyme (strip the leaves off one and keep the other whole)

2 tbsp chopped parsley

6 cloves garlic chopped (you can never have enough garlic in my book!)

Oven 450F.

Line the shrimp, in a single layer,  in a heavy oven proof dish (I used a 10 inch cast iron skillet).

Combine the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and dot over shrimp.

scampi

Place in oven and cook 10 mins, (depending on the size of your shrimp, they will be cooked at this stage) mine were quite large, I gave them a stir in the pan and cooked a further 4 mins. Perfect.

scampi1

Serves 2 hungry shrimp lovers with a hunk of crusty hot bread and side salad. My new favorite dinner.

scampi2

the last few… oh yeah since I’m a huge garlic fan,  I threw in a couple of whole cloves,  just because.

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 27, 2009 at 1:02 pm | Permalink

    I love almost anything cooked in a cast iron skillet, but this looks especially wonderful! I love scampi and I love jumbo shrimp.

  2. Gabriel
    Posted October 28, 2009 at 12:47 am | Permalink

    I am making this ASAP! I bought one of those cheap shimp cleaners at Chef Restaurant Supply on Bowery and it works like a charm. Can’t wait to try this. It looks delicious!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted October 28, 2009 at 9:18 am | Permalink

      I’ve now made this twice in 3 days! it’s delicious make sure you have a loaf of crusty bread for sopping… very important.

  3. Jill
    Posted October 28, 2009 at 10:18 pm | Permalink

    this is one of my favourite summer meals, but done on the Barbie, with tons of garlic butter! we jsut eat straight off the grill…as an entree!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

