Corn Chowder

When I got my freezer last year, I did get “slightly” fanatical about freezing everything I could get me hands on… anyway I have subsequently learned that not all things freeze well, case in point, corn on the cob.  Yip don’t do it, fresh summer corn is delicious, but thrown in the freezer and dug out 6 months later, its soggy and kinda mushy.  BUT all is not lost, it inspired me to turn my lemons into lemonade, or rather corn into chowder.

Sweetcorn Chowder

4 ears corn

1 medium potato, peeled and cut into a smallish dice

1 medium onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 stalks celery, smallish dice

1/2 red bell pepper, smallish dice

1 zucchini, smallish dice

2 cups veggie stock, 2 cups seafood or fish stock (I found the addition of seafood stock made the soup richer and was a nice balance)

1/2 c half & half (or milk) or 1/4 c heavy cream (you can also leave out the dairy, for a vegan version)

1/2 tsp each salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

In a large pot, over a medium heat, add the oil and saute the onion and garlic until translucent, about 4-5 mins.  Add the celery, potato, red pepper and zucchini and saute a further 10 mins.

While this is happening, cut the kernels off the corn and puree them,  like so…

add the corn, stock, salt and pepper and simmer for about 35 mins, then puree, I use an immersion blender straight into the pot, but otherwise you will need to cool soup first before putting into a blender, otherwise you will end up wearing your soup!

Add half and half (or cream), adjust seasonings and serve. YUM.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

