give me garlic

What to do on a rainy Thursday afternoon, when your satellite internet connection is driving you BANANAS and the patience level with your spinning Mac wheel is plummeting? (We live in hope of a high speed connection just around that proverbial corner!)

From my perch at the kitchen counter I can see a couple of heads of garlic and a rock hard baguette I bought last Friday….. me thinks this is perfect for croutons to house gobs of creamy roasted garlic….. I see a snack in my immediate future, and a distraction from internet pain.

To roast some garlic, lob the top of the head off, place the body on a sheet of tinfoil, drizzle with olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and pepper, bung in oven at 375 F for about 25 mins, I kinda lost track of the time, but this seems about right.  I could smell the garlic calling my name and it was a nice golden brown color.

To make croutons, hack through the incredibly hard stale loaf of bread, or alternatively use a fresh loaf! place on baking sheet, melt 3/4 stick butter with some herbs (I used italian seasoning and dried thyme) but you could totally skip this and just brush with butter….. I had my fancy pants on today.  Into the same oven for about the same time.

snack2

One Comment

  1. Posted March 20, 2009 at 3:32 pm | Permalink

    I LOVE garlic – this looks delicious


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] head roasted garlic, cloves removed from […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

