lemon and thyme shortbread cookies

I have nothing other to say than you should really bake these, which is momentous, considering half the time I can’t shut myself up.  Not too sweet, a hint of lemon and thyme, a light, flaky, buttery cookie, what more is there to say, apparently nothing.

shortbreadtead

Lemon & Thyme Shortbread Cookies

1 1/2 c flour

1/4 c superfine sugar

1 stick + 3 tbsp/4 oz + 3 tbsp butter (softened) I also made a version of this replacing the 3 tbsps of the butter with 3 tbsp Agave instead, which was delicious, less of a shortbread texture and more of a cookie

3 tbsp cornstarch

1/2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp lemon zest, 1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves

Oven 300F

shortbread-dough

Sift dry ingredients together, cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, add dry ingredients, lemon zest and thyme leaves, combine (add agave here).   The mixture will be quite dry and crumbly but it will come together once you work it with your hot little hands.

Press it together into a ball,  divide it in half, it’s easier to work with this amount at a time.  Roll out (I dust my pin with a little cornstarch not flour so it does not make it drier), to a 1/4 – 1/2 inch thickness cut as desired, (I used a 2 inch cookie cutter), prick tops with fork.  Place on a greased baking sheet, bake 25-30 mins until pale golden.

shortbread-preoven

shortbread-baked

8 Comments

  1. Posted May 8, 2009 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    cookies look good but whats that hideous stuff inside the cup ha ha…..Im only showing off because we just purchased a REAL espresso machine…saves me 50 sides a week. xx they are kisses by the way not poo holes

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted May 8, 2009 at 11:52 pm | Permalink

      It’s a nice hot cup of tea!

  2. Jill
    Posted May 8, 2009 at 11:39 pm | Permalink

    what the heck is Agave??? pass the butter please!No seriously….please explain!

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted May 8, 2009 at 11:52 pm | Permalink

    Agave is an organic sweetener extracted from a cactus plant. Milder than honey not as strong as maple syrup. and obviously not available in N.Z!

  4. Posted May 11, 2009 at 12:15 am | Permalink

    Lemon, thyme and shortbread. Three of my favorite things. I am so making these!

    Lorrie
    http://read-n-eat.com/

  5. Martha Rose
    Posted December 16, 2009 at 12:31 pm | Permalink

    If you have other agave cookies recipes my diabetic hubby would be eternally grateful!! Email me at bestartworks@yahoo.com if so, pretty, pretty please!!!! Love, Marty

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted December 16, 2009 at 2:56 pm | Permalink

      I will look through my arsenal of recipes and see what I can come up with.

  6. Lisa
    Posted June 29, 2012 at 11:49 am | Permalink

    I use a about 4 scoops of protien whey to get a little kick of protien so I am not eating just garbage. this way I get a little nutirents


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

