when you need something other than cornflakes

Peanut butter on toast and a big bowl (or several) of cornflakes are my go to dishes, and by go to, I mean when Mr Weiss isn’t around to feed me and I have to fend for myself!!  BUT when I can be bothered to actually make something this dish is it…. delish, easy and about 15 mins start to finish which is about all I can muster at the stove.

Penne with Artichokes and Olives

1 medium onion sliced

2 cloves garlic sliced

1 c good quality marinara sauce

1/4 cup pitted halved olives (black or green)

8 artichoke hearts (can or jar) drained and quartered

10 cherry tomatoes halved

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

olive oil and hunk parmesan

Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a skillet, saute onions and garlic until golden brown, add olives, artichokes, cherry tomatoes, crushed red pepper flakes and saute about 5 mins.  Add marinara sauce, stir and cook another 10 mins or so until everything has cooked down and mingled nicely together.

Bung on a pot of water for pasta, I used penne, cook accordingly, drain and add to sauce, stir, serve with parm.

2 Comments

  1. Posted December 8, 2009 at 2:03 pm | Permalink

    Yum! That reminds me that I have to look up that shrimp recipe…

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted December 9, 2009 at 9:56 pm | Permalink

    yes yes yes, in fact i might make shrimp scampi again this weekend.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

