fresh snap pea salad

Inspired by these grown from my garden and one of the last of the pickings…

peas

1/4 pound snap peas, cut in half lengthwise, peas and all, then julienne into thin strips

pea

1/2 shallot finely chopped

1 tbsp lemon zest

5 mint leaves julienne

salt & pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp rice vinegar

1/4 c (roughly) shaved parmesan (use a veggie peeler and make short shards)

pea1

Combine, peas, shallots, lemon zest, mint and give a nice big toss.  Whisk olive oil, rice vinegar, salt and pepper.  Drizzle over salad, add parmesan, gently toss and serve. This recipe serves 2 but can easily be doubled.

pea3

probably one of my most favorite things I’ve made yet!

4 Comments

  1. Bonnie
    Posted August 1, 2009 at 3:40 pm | Permalink

    Mmmmm delicious!! I’m gonna have to make that for lunch in central park tomorrow. Simple, fresh and good for you! Thanks!!

  2. Posted August 2, 2009 at 6:30 am | Permalink

    Ummm that looks delish! I love cheese so I would probably add some feta too!
    x

  3. Posted August 3, 2009 at 6:24 pm | Permalink

    I’m jealous of your garden! And I like the idea of julienning (is that a word?)the snaps. Cool!

  4. Posted August 5, 2009 at 1:40 am | Permalink

    I LOVE snap peas. This look so delicious.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

