every day is valentines day…

Okay okay stop reaching for the sick bucket, this was my statement I posed to Mr Weiss yesterday which totally got me out of making any kind of elaborate dinner… genius right?  So I rehashed this recipe, again, which should tell you that I still had a quarter head of cabbage rattling around in ye ole fridge and making friends with the cabbage were some long forgotten potatoes…. so into a pot they went and I made a savory version of my crowd pleaser Blueberry Pierogies.

Potato Pierogies

dough recipe here

3 large potatoes peeled, cut into large chunks

3 large cloves garlic, peeled

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp milk

1/3 cup grated cheese (I used a mix of parm and some strong cheddar)

1 tsp salt & 1/2 tsp pepper

Boil the potatoes and garlic to death, drain and mash along with the remaining ingredients.  Cool.  Roll out dough and using a 3 inch cutter or thereabouts, place roughly 1 tsp of cold mash into 3 inch dough circle.  Seal, press, refrigerate until ready to use.  Bring a large pot of salted water to boil.  Pierogies are ready when they float to the top.  About 5 mins.

Note: I usually split the dough into two batches as one is enough for dinner for two and then I freeze the remainder to be indulged in at a later date.

And what’s for pudding?  Pudding for us NZ’ers means all desserts, not just that wet soggy goop you can buy in a cup.  This recipe has been on the back burner for a couple of years, after Mr Weiss and I made our way out to Whistler Mountain…. um I should jump right in here and explain that after ONE snowboarding lesson I convinced us to head straight to the BIGGEST BADDEST MEANEST MOUNTAIN out west.  For heavens sakes people the flippin Olympics are on there right now… so that should just about tell you everything you need to know other than I’m a total MORON and what was I thinking?  Needless to say seeing us out there on the slopes wasn’t pretty, BUT we survived, lived to tell the tale AND ate at the Rim Rock Cafe where I still to this day dream of their legendary sticky toffee pudding… so my friends here you go.

Sticky Toffee Pudding (recipe found here)

I actually jumped right in and butchered the recipe by halving it, with only a household of two I cannot continuously make desserts for 8, my god goodbye skinny jeans!  The math almost killed me dividing all the amounts, but it worked fine.  I used 8 x 3 loaf pan and sliced it.

Sauce

1/2 c heavy cream

1/2 c butter

3/4 c + 2 tbsp light brown sugar

Oven 350F.  Line a 8 x 3 in loaf pan (or similar) with foil and grease with butter.

In a small pot, combine ingredients then gently boil for about 5 mins until sauce begins to turn brown and thicken slightly.  Pour half the sauce into your prepared pan, reserve the rest to serve with the pudding.

Pudding

4 oz pitted dates (mejool are best)

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 c boiling water

2 tbsp butter

1/4 c light brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp maple syrup or vanilla

3/4 c flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

In a small bowl combine the dates and baking soda, pour over the hot water and leave to cool.

In a standing mixer cream the butter and sugar (I know this is going to seem like it won’t cream properly with this small amount but scrape the bottom periodically and let the mixer go for about 5 mins it should work).  Add the maple syrup/vanilla and egg, combine well.  Stir in the date mixture until evenly incorporated.

In another bowl combine the flour and baking powder. Fold into the date mixture and pour into your prepared pan.  Bake for 20 mins at 350F and then turn oven down to 300F and continue to bake for another 20-25 mins until top is golden brown and slightly firm to touch.

Unmould when warm, slice and serve with remaining sauce.

This version of the recipe will easily serve 4 but if you want to do the full monty recipe it’s here.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] of potato pierogies with sauerkraut and sour […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

