simply sorbet

In the Catskill Kiwi’s attempt for world domination… or what’s more likely, possible domination between my own 4 walled domain,  I have an idea to launch “The Catskill Kiwi Sorbet Company”, yes a mouthful in all respects.  Ideally I want to make the sorbet flavors using ingredients from my home grown garden, but in the meantime I am churning out test batches using what’s around now… or rather was around when I bought them, only to be then left languishing for about a week.  Oh sigh.  These are pretty amazing in color but sometimes only just so so in taste, I added some lime juice and lime zest for zome zing!

I am doodling with the recipe using a simple sugar solution and alternately using agave as a sweetener. If I’m only making small batches then the agave is great, but for making multiple batches enough to corner the sorbet market I would have to charge both arms and a leg for one lousy pint.  So we will chalk that one up to I tried and oh well.

sorbet1

Citrus Sorbet (I am loosely calling it this because you can use any type of citrus for the flavor just stick to the measured amounts)

1 c blood orange juice

1 c simple syrup  (2 c water 1 c sugar gently boiled down to dissolve and thicken to syrup consistency) CHILLED

1 lime squeezed

1 tbsp lime zest

Churn baby churn.  Freeze for at least a day before eating.

sorbet

borangesorbet

If you want to use agave instead, use 1 c with 1/4 tsp of Guar Gum, which is readily available at any health food store.

meyersorbet

This is with 1 c meyer lemon juice and 1 tbsp crushed pink peppercorns.

7 Comments

  1. Posted April 13, 2009 at 11:29 am | Permalink

    OMG, I have to buy an ice cream machine! This looks like the most fun! Have you seen Jill Santopietro’s “Tiny Kitchen” video’s on the NY Times website? She has one featuring tangerine sherbet that looks almost as good as your blood orange sorbet. I like the guar gum idea – she used gelatin, which I’m not so fond of. You are inspiring me – lemon-pepper sorbet?! Wow.

  2. Posted April 13, 2009 at 5:10 pm | Permalink

    yum

  3. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted April 13, 2009 at 5:41 pm | Permalink

    Hi Green Key, I use this type of ice cream machine
    http://www.amazon.com/Cuisinart-ICE-20-Automatic-2-Quart-Ice-Cream/dp/B00000JGRT/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1239658821&sr=8-1

    its great for small batches and you can buy a second freezer bowl too. Making your own sorbets and ice creams is really easy, so I hope you will give it a whirl!!

  4. Mike
    Posted April 13, 2009 at 5:55 pm | Permalink

    You are so awesome. Can I come up and work in the shed and eat sorbet all day?

  5. Stephanie
    Posted April 13, 2009 at 11:00 pm | Permalink

    I second what Mike said above….and I have some great ideas for small artists’ cottages on your land!

  6. Posted April 16, 2009 at 10:45 am | Permalink

    I love the idea of meyer lemon and pink peppercorn. They both have floralish (I don’t think that’s a word, but anyway) qualities. How did it turn out??

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted April 16, 2009 at 11:18 am | Permalink

      Both Mr Weiss and I gave it a BIG THUMBS up!, the pink peppercorn is a nice addition. Try it when you can.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

