grillin

Mr Weiss and I have been dying to bust out and do some grillin.  Even though there is still snow on the ground and ever since I bought this bad boy for part of his birthday prezzie, (and if my friend Maggie makes one more “bowling ball named Homer” reference……)  we have been itching to get the next season inaugurated.  So when the temperature “soared” yesterday to a whopping 43 degrees, we decided we could wait no more, and in a flurry of fingers flying we had vege’s chopped, the weird fake meat kabob’s out (I am so not eating that!) and my sad little slab of steak marinating, all in minutes.  Now we’re sweatin indoors with our coats on and every few minute running outside to check on our first grill made food.  Oh spring come out from around that corner!

grillin-6-up

oh yeah and grillin will also give you THE most perfect excuse to make my favorite accompaniment to just about anything, or at least you can disguise the taste of the tofu or that crazy meat type substitute that you’ve never seen or heard of before, or that elusive steak… you want to slather all of the above with the CHIMI!

I had a really good one written down, which I can’t for the life of me find (ARGH) so I took a little tool around on the www and found one that seems quite similar…. I like my chimichurri heavy on the parsley and cilantro, but there are plenty of recipes out there that favor more oregano and lemon if you prefer that. Either way it’s super easy and delicious.

Chimichurri Sauce (adapted from somewhere…)

1 cup (packed) fresh Italian parsley

1/2 cup olive oil

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

1/2 cup (packed) fresh cilantro

3 garlic cloves, peeled

3/4 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon salt

Chuck everything into a cuisinart and blend. Ta dah.

chimichurri2

seriously I could eat this stuff with a spoon… and behind Mr Weiss’s back I quite often do.

One Comment

  1. Jill
    Posted March 31, 2009 at 12:37 am | Permalink

    You can take the girl out of Kiwi-Land, but don’t stand between her and BBQ food! So Kiwi-back-yard!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] grilled veggies (mixed peppers, red onions, green & yellow zuchinni) marinated firm tofu (tamari, garlic, crushed red pepper flakes, olive oil) chimichurri sauce recipe here. […]

  2. […] the vegetarians TOFU and the meat eaters FLANK STEAK both with lashings of my famous chimmichurri […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

