Windham inspiration…

Up here in the mountains everything is half an hour away…. 30 minutes to anywhere we say.  But one of those anywhere’s we are discovering is the little town of Windham, home to Windham Mountain, a 4 screen movie theater, giant sunflowers, the summertime sky ride

it was a little weird to “walk” off the lift rather than slide, fall or stumble… ha, but we managed…. and what we are slowly finding some great restaurants to eat in.

The Chicken Run Restaurant…. brand spanking new, fabulous outdoor seating, fire pit with Adirondack chairs for lounging and apparently they show outdoor movies too.  I had the classic rotisserie chook, delish and Mr Weiss sampled their homemade veggie burger.  A great local addition, we will be back for sure.

for someone who DOES NOT like a plate jammed crammed with a mish mash of food, I was absolutely delighted to be presented with this.

Rock n’ Mexicana (um slightly unfortunate cheesy name), but great Mexican food, I stuffed myself stupid with their chips and salsa which was soooo good, I almost ruined my dinner (pulled pork Chimichanga!) YUM) I was so full.  Cool outdoor fire pit and you know it’s got the apres ski crowd vibe.

Brandywine Restaurant, between Ashland and Windham, this has become a favorite of ours and their spicy tomato sauce is FANTASTIC… I love the mussel appetizer doused in it, so much so that this is my homage to it.

Spicy Tomato Sauce (serves 2 as a main or 4 as appetizer)

1 onion chopped

2 cloves garlic minced

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, t tbsp tomato puree, 1 tsp italian seasoning mix

2 hot red chili peppers sliced

2 lbs plum tomatoes (I used my san marzano’s), roughly chopped

1/4 c water, 1 tsp balsamic vinegar

Saute onions and garlic in olive oil, about 5 mins until soft. Add everything, except the water and balsamic and simmer until tomatoes are broken down and mushy looking, about 20 mins.  Decant into cuisinart and blend until still slightly chunky or use your immersion blender.  Adjust seasonings to taste.

Mussels

2 lbs PEI mussels cleaned and scrubbed.

1 cup stock

Place stock in a heavy bottom saute pan or pot with lid. Bring to a boil, add mussels, cover and simmer about 5  mins, or until mussels are opened.  Discard any unopened mussels, serve with spicy sauce and fresh bread.

On my radar to try next is Brie and Bordeaux a classic french style bistro, I have heard through the grapevine its pretty great.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] and escargots (okay maybe not this last one) here’s my latest favorite food recipes, dinner here, dessert  […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

