marinated feta

I was bleating on to Mrs Weiss the other day over outrageous $8.99 price tag on my favorite store bought brand of marinated feta,  I love to put on salads… when he finally commented, “well why don’t you just make your own”. Mr Weiss you are officially a genius!

Marinated Feta

good quality olive oil

1 block feta

1 tsp mixed peppercorns

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

sprig rosemary, oregano, sage

sliced sun dried tomatoes (optional)

feta2

I used two old jam jars, thoroughly cleaned and dried.  Ingredients above are for each jar.

feta1

Blot feta dry with paper towels, cut or break feta into roughly 1/2 inch pieces.  Place in jar.  Add rest of the ingredients, cover with oil. Refrigerate, will last about a month after opening.

feta

6 Comments

  1. Mame Johnston
    Posted August 4, 2009 at 5:21 pm | Permalink

    This looks absolutely scrumptious! Mr. Weiss is a genius. I’m going to have to give this a go soon. How are the tomatoes in Delaware County? Have they been affected by the dreaded blight? I’m hoping to chomp into some in a week or less.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 4, 2009 at 10:54 pm | Permalink

      My tomatoes have come through unscathed! touch wood.

  2. Posted August 4, 2009 at 5:48 pm | Permalink

    I will have to try this immediately.

  3. Bonnie
    Posted August 5, 2009 at 2:30 am | Permalink

    Mmmm yummo! My mother used to do this every summer (December)and give them as gifts for Christmas. She used to pop in some garlic cloves and bay leaves. Thanks, you’ve inspired me!

  4. Posted August 5, 2009 at 12:44 pm | Permalink

    mmm that looks so delicious! what a great idea – and also what a great way to keep the extra feta ready and fresh- i always seem to forget a bit in the refrigerator – and it makes me feel guilty!

  5. John Sct
    Posted October 28, 2009 at 12:21 pm | Permalink

    Just had the pleasure of sampling some of this tasty stuff on a sandwich, of course, with cucumber, red onion, hummus and some greens. Sort of a Greek salad sandwich.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

