rhubarb

Okay Okay, so every man and his dog has already written their bit about rhubarb, blah blah blah and your probably all thinking well the slow poke’s bringing up the rear and I’ve missed the boat on this one… BUT wait a minute, I just ran by a couple of supermarkets and they had plenty of the bright red stalks begging for attention.  So just hold your horses and pucker up kiddies rhubarb ain’t going nowhere!

barb

Compote

2 lbs rhubarb cut into 1/2 inch pieces

1/4 cup sugar

2 tbsp butter

1 tsp lime zest

rhubarb 2

rhubarb 1

throw everything into a pot and heat gently until sugar and butter and rhubarb breaks down BUT does not turn to mush and still has some definition in the pieces. YUM YUM YUM.

rhubarb stewed

I’m still bummed the mystery plant did not turn out to be this delicious stuff.

Pickled Rhubarb (adaped from Johnny Iuzzini)

1 lb rhubarb sliced 1/4 inch thin

1/2 cup sherry vinegar

1/2 cup rice vinegar

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup water

2 star anise

1 tbsp coarse salt

rhubarb pickled1

Place the sliced rhubarb into a shallow dish, heat everything else in a pot until boiling and disolved.  Turn off heat, wait 5 mins, pour over rhubarb, cover and cool.

rhubarb pickled

Store in airtight container in the fridge and put it on…. um I’m not exactly sure, whatever you like I guess. You tell me!

5 Comments

  1. Posted June 29, 2009 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

    I love rhubarb so I don’t care if everyone has already written about rhubarb crisps and cobblers! Good on you!

  2. Mame Johnston
    Posted June 29, 2009 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    You’re making me miss my momma even more. She always made this for us when we would come to Roxbury for a visit. It’s great on vanilla ice cream when it’s warmed a bit (the sauce, that is, not the ice cream!).

  3. Posted June 30, 2009 at 12:57 am | Permalink

    You’re making me want to learn how to cook! Beautiful pictures btw:}

  4. Posted July 1, 2009 at 9:45 am | Permalink

    what a great idea, and totally gorgeous photos!

  5. Posted July 16, 2009 at 4:55 pm | Permalink

    You’re fine – I just baked this year’s first rhubarb-strawberry-cake last week. I don’t know why it’s available in California later than in cold, cold Germany, where I used to use it for baking all through May and June, but it is… These recipes look great too!

    Greetings,
    poet


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] tart with lemon curd cream Because I can’t get enough of rhubarb and I have been waiting to pawn this off onto guests, so Mr Weiss and I don’t stuff ourselves […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

