slow roasted goodness

Part of our farm stand bounty and something I have been waiting to do, when it’s cold outside and the oven can be on for hours on end without you breaking a sweat.  I can shovel these in all day long, on salads, in sandwiches, in sauces, on pasta… trust me there are plenty of uses for these suckers.  You will be hooked, yeah you will be.

Slow Roasted Tomatoes

2-3 lbs plum tomatoes

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp whole coriander seed (sometimes I use fennel seed instead, depending whats on hand)

2 tbsp olive oil

sea salt

Heat oven to 200F.

slowroasted

Wash tomatoes

slow roasted

cut in half lengthwise, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and spices… bake for… well hours actually, I totally forgot about mine but they must have been in the oven for around 4-5 hours.  I turned off the oven, left them inside and went to bed.

slow roast

they looked like this… notice the 2 missing pieces… it’s called quality control people!

slow roasted 3

I packed one jar in good quality olive oil, and left one alone…

slow

your choice.

 

4 Comments

  1. Posted October 25, 2009 at 8:30 am | Permalink

    Super glad I came across this! I’ve got some tomatoes lying around and was pondering about making tomato soup, but I think I’ll try this instead!

  2. Posted October 25, 2009 at 1:56 pm | Permalink

    Definitely need quality control when you are making amazing roasted tomatoes. Such a lovely idea.

  3. Jesika
    Posted October 27, 2009 at 6:30 am | Permalink

    Found some grape tomatoes and had a roastin’! Inspired me so much I did this
    http://jesikajack.blogspot.com/2009/10/inspiration-for-third-bench.html
    thank you!!!!

  4. John Scott
    Posted November 5, 2009 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

    I enjoyed some of these on a tBLT. The coriander/cumin was a nice surprise. Amazing how the slow roast concentrates all that tomatoey goodness.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

