lamingtons

Mr Weiss thinks it’s hilarious to call these “lammykins”, I’m not sure exactly why, but I’ve found it’s better not to question some things…. hold that,  he’s just informed me that when I first mentioned these he thought I was saying “lammykins” not “lamingtons”, must be the accent thing.

Ahhh what can I say about Lamingtons, another N.Z staple, basically day old sponge, cut in squares, smeared with jam, dipped in chocolate icing and rolled in coconut, what’s not to like.  But please do yourself a favor and buy unsweetened coconut, I cannot be responsible for you people keeling over from a massive sugar attack for using that horrifying “angel flake” sweetened stuff.  I can practically see the sugar coagulating on that crap.  Ewwww.

Again this recipe comes courtesy of the good ole Edmonds, I can just see myself becoming the spokesperson for the complete revival of this classic, your welcome Edmonds!

Lamingtons

Do try and make the sponge a day ahead, trust me, I was too impatient to wait and tried to ice these the same day and the sponge just soaks up too much chocolate icing, it needs to be firmer.

1 c  flour

3/4 c sugar

3 eggs

3 tbsp melted butter

2 tbsp milk

2 tsp baking powder

Oven 375F 1/4 sheet pan tin (9 x 12)

Put everything (EXCEPT baking powder) into bowl of standing mixer, or use hand held beater, beat 3 mins, stir in baking powder. Pour into greased pan. Bake 15-20 mins. Cool. Cover and leave overnight.

lamington1-copy1

Cut in half, smear half with jam (I used strawberry) put together and cut into squares. Make icing.

2 tbsp melted butter

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa

6 tbsp boiling water

1 1/2 c confectioners sugar

1 bag unsweetened coconut

Combine butter, cocoa and water into a paste, add SIFTED confectioners sugar and whisk.  Should be quite runny.  Dump coconut onto a plate, dip sponge squares into icing then coconut, put on cooling rack to set. Enjoy with a nice hot cuppa.

lamington-copy1

6 Comments

  1. Cynthia
    Posted April 29, 2009 at 12:54 am | Permalink

    Hi there
    You and your readers may be interested to know that in my family these were always called ‘Poofters’. Lamingtons are named after Lord Lamington, Govenor of Queensland Wikipedia says this: “Ironically, Lord Lamington was known to have hated the dessert that had been named in his honour, once referring to them as “those bloody poofy woolly biscuits” “- probably where my family got the ‘poofter’ name.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted April 29, 2009 at 8:07 am | Permalink

      oh my god, i love it!

    • kim
      Posted April 29, 2009 at 3:06 pm | Permalink

      Hilarious 😀

  2. Jill
    Posted April 29, 2009 at 11:58 pm | Permalink

    Do you have any historial information in your “Ladies – a plate” book, on the lamingtons? I thought they where from our English background… also, dont forget the pink coloured ones, these could actually look like “lammikins”
    Me and the big H, still have the odd lamington cake from the local chinese bakery, stuffed with fresh cream in the middle…. all for a whopping NZ$5.00!

  3. Posted April 30, 2009 at 9:50 am | Permalink

    Those looks delightful! Perfect for tea.

  4. Posted June 20, 2013 at 8:56 pm | Permalink

    I loved lamingtons as a child in NZ though I confess I never did hear of them being referred t as poofters, lol


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

