arepas

I found this recipe in the New York Times a few weeks ago, written by Bitty himself, Mr Mark Bittman… love that guy!  So this past weekend when I stumbled into the kitchen I had a hankering to give it a go.  All the ingredients go into a bowl and  the I walked away for the “15 minute”  wait for the contents to turn into a “dough” type consistency… Hmmm, curious, mine doesn’t look like a dough, uh oh whoops… upon further investigation it turns out that I had used coarse corn grits instead of fine ground cornmeal… apparently this makes a BIG difference.

Not giving up on wasting an opportunity to fry something, I wildy started throwing in more ingredients, to force a dough to come together and actually the results were pretty great.

Arepas (adapted from Mark Bittman)

1 cup corn grits

1/3 c chopped cilantro

1 c milk + 3 tbsp butter (melted together)

1/4 c chopped scallions

1/3 c shredded mozzarella

1 ear corn, kernels cut from or 1/2 c canned corn

1 jalapeno seeded and chopped

1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and lastly pour over the heated milk and butter, stir to combine.  Press to form hamburger sized patties. Heat a 2 tbsp olive oil in non stick skillet pan fry (about 4 mins) each side, until golden brown.

arepa3

arepa2

arepa1

Yum nice and golden… we ate ours with salsa, sour cream and a twee cilantro garnish.

arepa

you can also split them in half and stuff em with a variety of goodies, I think Bitty suggests black beans, I was gonna make some eggs to go in or on top of, but by the time they were ready I couldn’t be bothered.. as above was just fine!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

