rhubarb tart with lemon curd cream

Because I can’t get enough of rhubarb and I have been waiting to pawn this off onto guests, so Mr Weiss and I don’t stuff ourselves stupid and pig the entire thing, and also because I was rummaging through me Nan’s recipes again and found a Lemon Cream filling for her legendary Pavlova that I thought I could pinch and use for the tart filling. Bloody genius.

Tart Pastry (this recipe originated from somewhere that I had scribbled it down, but I have no idea where)

1 1/2 c flour

1/2 c confectioners sugar

1 stick + 1 tbsp cold butter cut up

1 lg egg yolk

1/4 tsp salt

In a food processor pulse  together all ingredient (except yolk) to coarse crumbs.  Pulse in egg until it pulls together and can shape into a ball.  Chill an hour before rolling.  Roll out to roughly 1/4 inch thick, transfer into tart pan and press in edges, trim overhang.

rhubarb tart 5

Oven 375F, bake blind with weights (I used dried beans) for 15 mins, take weights/beans out, tinfoil fluted edges (to prevent from browning too quickly) return to oven for another 10 mins or until bottom crust is deep golden brown.

rhubarb tart 3

Filling

2 egg yolks

1/2 c sugar

1/2 c fresh lemon juice

1 tsp grated lemon zest

1 c whipping cream

In a small pan over low heat combine egg, sugar, lemon juice and zest, stirring constantly until thick about 15 mins.

rhubarb tart 4

Cool, beat cream until thick, fold in lemon curd, spread into pie shell.

rhubarb tart 2

Spoon rhubarb compote, recipe here, over lemon filling. Serve.

rhubarb tart 1

10 Comments

  1. Posted July 7, 2009 at 1:15 pm | Permalink

    oh my god this looks fantastic! i love lemon curd, never thought to mix it with whipped cream. i can’t wait. thanks!

  2. Marjorie
    Posted July 7, 2009 at 3:13 pm | Permalink

    Sounds and looks great! Your recipes and photos make me want to give rhubarb another try. But, ummmm … where do the beans come in? … Did I
    miss something? …

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 7, 2009 at 3:20 pm | Permalink

      Hi Marjorie, the photo of the beans is what I used to “blind bake” the tart shell, I didn’t have any pie weights so you can use any kind of dried bean or rice to weigh it down. Hope this helps.

  3. Marjorie
    Posted July 7, 2009 at 3:48 pm | Permalink

    Sorry, I read to fast — good to know. My previous experience with pastry-
    baking has been remedial, at best. Thanks for the advice! Definitely going
    to experiment with your rhubarb recipes. My husband loves it, and
    I’m trying to love it, too.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 7, 2009 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

      hey hope you try it the lemon curd cream is really GOOD, and if your not a huge fan of rhubarb you can always leave the compote off the top and serve it on the side with the tart, then your husband can spoon on LOTS and you can try a little.

  4. Mame Johnston
    Posted July 7, 2009 at 5:53 pm | Permalink

    This is so mouth-watering! Your photos are so well-done and jump off the page for the reader. Thanks for sharing another amazing recipe. We’re in the throes of moving from our home on the 22nd after selling it in one day. It’s freaking me OUT, to say the least. I won’t be making anything except reservations for a while!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted July 7, 2009 at 9:37 pm | Permalink

      wow congrats on selling your home so fast, ONE DAY! so where are you headed??

      • Mame Johnston
        Posted July 7, 2009 at 9:56 pm | Permalink

        We’re actually moving back to a suburb of Raleigh, NC called Cary. It’s a great community that we left in 2001 before moving back to Roxbury for 2 years. 36″ of snow on Christmas Day of 2002 did me in, I have to say. We came back south in 2003 to Pinehurst, the golfing capital of the world, so to speak. I long for more cultural offerings like symphony and theater. We have to be out of here in 2 weeks. We were supposed to be in Roxbury next week for a wedding, but had to cancel due to the move. We’re bummed out about that on several levels. Perhaps we’ll make it there in August.

  5. Jill
    Posted July 7, 2009 at 8:05 pm | Permalink

    Oh my god….my two favourites things together, rhubarb & lemon curd! yum I’ll be trying this one, diet out the window!

  6. Posted July 8, 2009 at 11:10 am | Permalink

    Delish! Do you have any left? I’m hungry!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] postings here, here and here and some of my favorite savory recipes here, here and here and sweets here, here and here.  And if that isn’t enough for you check my alter ego out over here. This […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

