more pie goddam it!

I really, really really REALLY do try hard to stay out of the kitchen when someone else, namely Mr Weiss, is in there cooking.  I said I TRY right? It doesn’t always work out that he’s left alone to cook dinner without me lurking around in the background, fiddling with things, cleaning up behind him, or as he refers to it “the Brogan sweep”.

I’m pretty famous amongst friends for “the sweep”,  and I’ve been busted for crimes against drinks whisked away before finishing, cups of tea missing and “leftovers” trashed.  Now I have nothing against leftovers,  a second round of grazing sure, but I do beg to differ the difference between it being neatly packed away in Tupperware and a plate of remnants just shoved in the fridge, coz the latter in my world is heading straight for the bin.

Yes I know this must be annoying for the chef  to be bothered by me peeking in, watching, asking, ahem… helping??? and I am going to work on this in the future,  but in my defense this is someone who has been known to, in the past, whilst making soup, throw an entire dressed salad  into it, did I mention it was DRESSED, talk about your soup WITH your salad! No wonder I’m suspicious every time he steps into the kitchen.  God knows what I’ll get on me plate.

But I was talking about pie wasn’t I?…. and Mr Weiss is known to make a mean one….. he’s serious, this is the guy who once threw a pie party and single-handedly baked, from scratch,  about dozen pies.  And they weren’t any time saver sissy ones either, we’re talking full on street cred, with attitude, variety of  pies – in the cream corner we have chocolate, banana, coconut and butterscotch; peanut butter, peach, cherry, apple and mixed berry to name a few….who does that? I’ll tell ya who NATE WEISS DOES!!

May I present mixed berry pie Nate Weiss style

Pastry

2 c ap flour

6 tbsp  butter

pinch salt

8-10 tbsp ice cold water

mix flour and salt together, cut butter into small pieces, using pastry blender or 2 knives cut into small crumbs. Mix in water, carefully until dough pulls together and you can mound it into a ball.  Don’t play with it, excessively manhandle it or screw about with it in any way….. wrap in saran and stick in the fridge to rest for at least 15 mins.

For the filling, I had some berries leftover from a job, but I get confused between pints, punnets and plain old container sizes. So I have no idea what the net weight of the berry boxes were, because they’ve already been trashed,  that damn “sweep”.  But I know I had the smaller sized boxes, 2 of blueberries, 2 raspberries, 2 blackberries and 1 regular box strawberries, on top of this highly accurate accounting, I also ate some, dropped a few on the floor (the 5 second rule here did not apply as they squished upon landing)…. so we’ll just call it 5 cups shall we?

Filling

5 cups mixed berries (strawberries sliced)

1/2 cup sugar

juice 1 lemon

1 tbsp orange zest

5 tsp cornstarch

Mix everything in a bowl, and let rest while you pull the dough ball out of the fridge and start pounding on it with a rolling pin, just kidding.  This is where we gently roll out the dough to cover a 9 inch pie pan (not deep dish). Cut a little less than half off and use this for the lattice top.  Make sure you dust your surface with flour,  we had run out  at this stage so we used cornstarch and it worked really well.

1 tbsp of butter cut into little pieces gets dotted along top of pie.  Into the oven she goes at 425F for ABOUT 4o mins or until golden brown. Ta dah!!

2 Comments

  1. Janelle
    Posted March 5, 2009 at 12:40 pm | Permalink

    this looks so fabulous and like something right up my alley!!!
    will perhaps try it this weekend..Will tell you how it goes…
    Kisses xoxoxo

  2. Jill
    Posted March 11, 2009 at 5:39 am | Permalink

    Pie looks just yummy! How blissful is it see a man cooking in the kitchen, let along baking a pie! he’s a keeper.
    “the Brogan-Sweep” runs in the family….you are not alone


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

