rampant

I had to race back into town for a quickie… job that is, so I dusted off me ole granny cart,  listen if you constantly carry copious amounts of crap from one end of Manhattan, to the tuther… then you too would be marching on over to your local hardware store and picking up the biggest beast you can get your hands on.  No matter how stylistically challenged you may look, your twisted, shriveled spine and rock like shoulders will thank you for it.

So as I was saying, I pushed my incredibly “chic” cart up to the Union Square Farmers Market yesterday and it was an in veritable explosion of color.  I must admit I haven’t been swanning by in awhile and after being used to looking at still brown grass and the odd random spring flower, attempting to push its puny way up through the crater like earth…it certainly was some welcome eye candy, not to mention positively teeming with the peeps out and about.

fm7

fm6

fm3

Everybody had flowers by the armload, baby herb plants and RAMPS, ramps, ramps and more ramps than you can poke a stick at!  The masses were grabbing for them as if their life depended on it, so I thought I’d better jump on the bandwagon, I don’t want to be singled out as a “ramp hater”, the only looser not clutching their precious cargo, a bag of ramps, a sitting duck waiting to be stoned, so to speak.

fm1

fm2

The lady at the ramp stand also gave me this knobbly kneed looking thing, otherwise known as a sunchoke….so now what?  Yes well that’s a bloody fine question.  But I figured if people get all crazy over these things the one time of the year they are out… I better come up with something quick smart.

I only have one rule in life (I should probably have a few more… but) when in doubt shove some pastry around it!! GENIUS I KNOW!!

Ramps and Other Stuff Tart

2 bunches ramps loosely chopped

1 lg onion sliced

1 leek sliced,

2 spring onion bulbs sliced

1 sunchoke sliced (well what else am I going to do with 1?) optional okay

2/3 cup grated parmesan

1/2 cup ricotta (don’t have?? you can always make your own… here)

2 egg yolks

BIG pinch salt & pepper

1 recipe Pate Brisee (its not that hard really, no really its not) and you can find one anywhere, maybe you have one you like and that you can whip up with ya eyes closed, so go for it, if not try this.

Okay so grab your dough and your tart pan, hopefully you have one? mine is 8 inch, roll out dough to circle larger than pan, gently ease dough into pan and trim.  Chill crust 20 mins.  Heat oven 400F, line dough with tin foil and then weigh it down with either pie weights or dried beans.  Bake for 15 mins, take out the pie weights, prick bottom of crust and bake another 10 mins.

Lower oven to 375F

In the meantime saute the onions over low heat with a generous amount of olive oil, until golden brown, about 20 mins.  Dump that into a large bowl, add a bit more oil to the pan and saute the leeks, ramps, spring onions and the one pathetic sunchoke, if your using,  all together, until soft and lightly brown. Add to onions. Give this a big stir, add a nice generous pinch of both salt and pepper.  Mix the ricotta and egg yolks and 1/3 of the parmesan together and mix in.  Sprinkle some of the other 1/3 cheese over bottom of pie crust, but leave a little to sprinkle on top.   Spoon in the filling and smooth over sprinkle with the last bit of cheese, bake again for 25 mins, until puffed and golden.

tartcut

3 Comments

  1. Posted April 23, 2009 at 11:48 am | Permalink

    Mmmm. Sounds yummy. I had to google ‘ramps.’ Now I’m in the know!

  2. Posted April 23, 2009 at 10:23 pm | Permalink

    You jumped in the ramp bandwagon! I went to the ramp lady at the Union Square market recently too and i pickled, pickled, pickled. I picked some more in a park in Yonkers and i pickled some more. Next time i’ll try your tart!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted April 23, 2009 at 11:19 pm | Permalink

      in case you want to RAMP it up a bit, feel free to throw in more than my stingy 2 bunches, i thought they were a lot stronger in flavor, this advice is purely for the ramp expert in you!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] whilst the Gazpacho sits still chilling in the refrigerator, I switched gears and whipped up this, but seeing as I’m still up to me eyeballs in swiss chard, I modified it to accommodate me […]

  2. […] selection of local cheese and a veggie tart, based on this recipe, but with kale, potato, tomato and more […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

