a weekend’s worth of food

Okay hands up how many of us did not leave the house this weekend? WHAT!!! just me was the wimpy-cheese-standing-alone type who couldn’t face 15F weather outside. Whilst I was in lock down this weekend my challenge was to feed Mr Weiss and myself with ingredients left forgotten on the shelves.

What’s a girl to do when it’s cold outside…. EAT goddam it EAT! Get the spanx out retirement it’s worth every mouth full. HAHA.

Friday night dinner, I have been hoarding this recipe for awhile now waiting to strike and since I was too lazy to make an entire dinner I got Mr Weiss to stop off at our favorite Indian takeout joint on Houston to supplement my contribution.

Shrimp in Chili Mustard Sauce (adapted from here)

1 lb medium shrimp peeled and deveined

1 medium onion finely diced

2 cloves garlic finely chopped

2 red chilies sliced

1 tbsp mustard oil

1 tbsp yellow mustard seeds

1 tsp tumeric

1 tsp coriander

juice of 1 lemon

1/4 cup water

In a large skillet gently heat the mustard oil and add the seeds, garlic and onion.  Saute 2-3 mins until seeds start to pop and onions turn translucent.  Add the spices, lemon juice, chili and shrimp, cook 3 mins.  Add the water and turn shrimp until they are pink and opaque, about another 3 minutes.

YUM! Mr Weiss brought us chana masala, and spinach saag and some vegetable pakora’s all for a whopping $5 bucks. Dinner is done.

and we scarfed up every last morsel… this dish will be a repeater for sure.

I’m a simple gal at heart, so one of my favorite breakfast’s is egg and soldiers…. and a cappuccino of course.

3 minute boiled egg… perfect everytime.

again there’s no waste in this household….

Mr Weiss also had the smarts to pick us up a Boboli premade pizza crust… scoff all you want but these things are great.  I made us our simple standard pie of olives, capers, red sauce, slash of pesto (when it’s around) parmesan, spices (crushed red pepper flakes, garlic chips, dried basil and oregano) and mozzarella.

there are 2 plates there, I swear I didn’t pig the entire pie!

Mr Weiss is known for whipping up a wicked waffle and a perfect pancake.  He treated me to wild maine blueberry (I had some frozen from summer) pancakes for Sunday breakfast.  I know, I know I’m a spoilt be-actch.

His go to recipe comes from the Joy of Cooking, but he’s a bit like me in the respect that there is always something extra thrown in for good measure.  He halved the original recipe which makes 4 perfect sized pancakes each.

oh joyous Sunday morning how you treated me so well.

5 Comments

  1. Mame Johnston
    Posted February 1, 2010 at 12:54 pm | Permalink

    I certainly pray that you were using some of Shawn Farnum’s homegrown maple syrup from the Catskills on those blueberry pancakes! They look wonderful!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted February 1, 2010 at 4:35 pm | Permalink

      I actually do have some of the homegrown maple syrup! i took some back to the city with me for these pancake occasions. It’s great.

  2. Posted February 1, 2010 at 2:03 pm | Permalink

    A delicious weekend! (If it were me, I would have turned it into a week’s worth of blog posts 😉 I made shrimp this weekend too, but with a Greek twist. Your shrimp recipe looks fab and I think I have all of the ingredients. Could be dinner…

  3. Jill
    Posted February 1, 2010 at 9:10 pm | Permalink

    Yummy! Nice to be spoilt with breakfast on Sunday. So nice when the other half cooks!

  4. Posted February 2, 2010 at 3:36 pm | Permalink

    Oh wow… I’m hungry, and it’s only just past breakfast time here in Nu Zild


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

