tomatoes 2.0

Well last week in the mountains we had weather ranging from 95F plummeting down to 55F with 35+ mile gusting winds.  But the real drama started when I discovered my precious baby tomato plants, which I had just planted, pretty much got annihilated by the unbelievable wind.

I’m devastated,  much like my poor tomatoes, it absolutely pained me to replace them (sorry Gabriel, my tomato Guru) but with the snapped off twigs that remained I didn’t want to chance that they would “recover”. Three  plants managed to remain fairly unscathed probably because they are smaller and lower to the ground, so I kept my original plants of San Marzano and my favorite Peach.

At the local farmers market I got a replacement Black Cherry and a Black Krim, which I am hoping is like my original Black Prince.  Ruby was replaced with Brandywine and Polish (a new choice) I replaced with a Striped German.

Needless to say I spent some time trying to find a suitable wind break material to secure to the back garden fence where the wind comes screaming in… a little too late I know.  Ah hindsight…

 

2 Comments

  1. Posted June 6, 2011 at 7:45 am | Permalink

    I’ve only got a deck garden but can empathise … I get quite upset and worried when we have our usual massive storms here in Summer that my poor little plants will get wiped out.

    Bizarre weather in the middle of your summer eh?!

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted June 6, 2011 at 8:12 am | Permalink

    Really crazy! I’m hoping that will be it for the summer!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*