my new favorite cake

In an effort to still try and have minimal use of my gammy arm, which in my opinion is not nearly healing fast enough! I slowly made this easy cake.   The results… YUM.  This is my favorite type of cake, moist, light, good crumb, not too sweet, subtle rosemary flavor, it’s really really good, and with only using two bowls and one whisk to whip it together… a cinch to make.

Olive Oil, Rosemary & Chocolate Cake (from here)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup spelt flour

3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3 eggs
1 cup olive oil
3/4 cup whole milk
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh rosemary, finely chopped
5 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into 1/2-inch pieces

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. (175 degrees C.). Rub a 9 1/2-inch fluted tart pan with olive oil.

Sift the dry ingredients into a large bowl, pouring any bits of grain or other ingredients left in the sifter back into the bowl. Set aside.

In another large bowl, whisk the eggs thoroughly. Add the olive oil, milk and rosemary and whisk again. Using a spatula, fold the wet ingredients into the dry, gently mixing just until combined. Stir in the chocolate. Pour the batter into the pan, spreading it evenly and smoothing the top.

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until the top is domed, golden brown, and a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean. The cake can be eaten warm or cool from the pan.

This book “Good to the Grain”, by Kim Boyce, is at the top of my list to get asap and start baking immediately!

4 Comments

  1. Jill
    Posted August 24, 2010 at 2:13 am | Permalink

    Sounds like such a weird combination of ingredients! but then thats how Carrot Cake took off

  2. thecatskillkiwi
    Posted August 24, 2010 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    trust me this cake is killer!

  3. Stephanie
    Posted August 26, 2010 at 5:37 pm | Permalink

    Yum, it just came out of the oven and smells so good! The spring form pan seems to be fine, though I think the tart pan is prettier. Linked it on my fb page. Will let you know when I slice into it!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 26, 2010 at 6:01 pm | Permalink

      once you slice you will not stop!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Yip Mr Weiss and I are heading over the pond to visit with some friends… be back in a week, in the meantime whilst I’m stuffing my face with croissants, crepes and escargots (okay maybe not this last one) here’s my latest favorite food recipes, dinner here, dessert  here. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*