bacon & egg pie

I think it’s high time for me to document my world famous Bacon & Egg pie… others have, but this is a good looking fancier version of an old kiwi staple.  It’s pretty safe to say that every person in New Zealand knows how to whip up one of these.  It will feed a few, be a party favorite (cut up into daintier pieces and sitting next to the sausage roll pile… yes pastry is king in n.z.), work as either breakfast served up with baked beans, or dinner with salad or greens. If you have a sheet of puff pastry shoved in the back of the freezer, a few eggs, a manky old onion & potato you too can make this one pan wonder.

pie 1

I had to adapt this slightly since I married a vegetarian! so out goes the bacon and in goes any type of fake meat stuff that gets inflicted upon you… the ones I found work best with this particular recipe are the Morningstar Farms breakfast links, just cut them up as use where the layer of bacon (YUM) would normally be.  I did try one version with the fake bacon, but that crap tastes like cardboard, not to mention it looks pretty weird too.  If  you are using the real stuff (you lucky buggers) just pre-cook the bacon first, not till crispy, but close to and then cut into bite sized pieces.

pie 2

ingredients for an 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 pan

2 sheets puff pastry

1 onion chopped

1 potato sliced really thin

8 eggs

meat stuff (about 6 breakfast links) or 8 slices of bacon (real or otherwise)

salt & pepper

pie 3

Roll out 1 pastry sheet to fit snugly into pan with about an inch overhang. Layer the chopped onions on bottom, sprinkle your meat choice over and place down an overlapping layer of potato to make a shelf for the eggs to sit on. Crack in the eggs, whole,  spacing them apart, yes I said whole, sprinkle with salt & pepper. Roll pastry over to cover, trim and crimp edges, I usually use a fork for this. Poke holes in top, pop in the oven at 375 F for about 40 mins, or until pastry is puffed and golden.  Eat this for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

pie 4

ps and its great cold the next day as a snack. how versatile!!

just out of the oven

pie 6

pie 7

next day breakfast.

……………………………………………..

………………………………

…………………………

…………………………………………………

9 Comments

  1. rosie
    Posted March 1, 2009 at 3:03 pm | Permalink

    I am so going to try this recipe for the next lazy sunday morning …… love the site, your writing and pics 🙂 and the photo of Nate in the snow xxx

  2. Gabriel
    Posted March 1, 2009 at 7:41 pm | Permalink

    Yum. I’ve missed your amazing bacon and egg pie!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted March 1, 2009 at 7:56 pm | Permalink

      well now you can make your own delicious one..

  3. lisaschweitzer
    Posted March 2, 2009 at 8:40 am | Permalink

    i’d like a slice of that right now, please. where’s the cheese?

  4. Sarah
    Posted March 5, 2009 at 7:26 pm | Permalink

    When are you going to make this for me?

  5. Posted August 19, 2009 at 10:52 pm | Permalink

    I will use real bacon when I make it… this looks incredibly delicious! I think I might even try to make it for breakfast tomorrow!! Thanks for the great idea!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted August 19, 2009 at 11:30 pm | Permalink

      I hope you try it, its really yummy!

  6. Kristy
    Posted November 12, 2010 at 9:12 pm | Permalink

    Yum. I Just made this for the workmen that are out doing my driveway. They loved it!!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted November 13, 2010 at 5:14 pm | Permalink

      easy right? and so tasty… good the next day too.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] out some of my favorite postings here, here and here and some of my favorite savory recipes here, here and here and sweets here, here and here.  And if that isn’t enough for you check my alter […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*