tomatoes!!

Now is the time I reap the benefits of the tomatoes planted sometime in June, being a little bit further north and a little bit higher up our tomatoes come in later but boy are they here.

Every year my guru tomato guy gives me different varieties to try, some slight variations of what I have had before and some completely new ones. The list this year is Black Cherry, Spot, Plum, Kumato (similar to Black Prince), Polish, Large Yellow, Peach and Ruby.

from bottom left and around we have Lg Yellow, Ruby/Polish (very similar looking), Kumato, Black Cherry, Peach, Plum and Spot…

By far our favorite is peach, a slightly fuzzy skinned pale yellow medium to small sized tomato that packs some serious flavor. I am intrigued by spot because of its mottled green and red skinned striping, but we haven’t had many ripen yet.. this guy seems the last to the party.  Ruby and Polish I can barely tell the difference between these two heirloom varieties but they are both winners and make excellent slicing for sandwiches.  Kumato is a little disappointing but perhaps only because we loved the black prince (grown last year) and feel that it one ups it on the flavor. Large yellow is a monster with intense yellow/orange color throughout the entire fruit, its meaty and great for chunks in a salad.

so far we have more tomatoes that I can poke a stick at and am already planning whats pegged for sauce making… that would be you Plum, last year it was San Marzano… the Plum this year seems meatier, redder and bigger so we shall see how it cooks down.

nothing beats homegrown tomatoes!!

10 Comments

  1. Posted September 5, 2012 at 4:04 pm | Permalink

    Never ceases to amaze me with how much variety there are in the fruits of tomatoes!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 5, 2012 at 4:12 pm | Permalink

      I know! its fun to discover them…

  2. Posted September 5, 2012 at 6:09 pm | Permalink

    what are the small ‘brown’ ones in the upper right corner? I think those are the ones we tasted (and got addicted to) in NJ this august.

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 5, 2012 at 6:13 pm | Permalink

      black cherry tomatoes… super cute and delish!

  3. Posted September 5, 2012 at 7:31 pm | Permalink

    I’ve never heard of a Polish tomato before. Where did you get them – seeds or plants?

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 6, 2012 at 7:07 am | Permalink

      They are a heirloom variety, every year my friend saves the seeds, dries them and the re-seeds them the following year… I am lucky enough to get the plant when it is ready to go into the ground 🙂

      • Posted September 8, 2012 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

        Thanks. I might just have to try those next year.

  4. Jill
    Posted September 6, 2012 at 1:54 am | Permalink

    Pasta..Pasta…Pasta

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted September 6, 2012 at 7:09 am | Permalink

      I usually make with the Plum tomatoes pasta sauce, this year I’ll try making pasta with some uncooked fresh tomatoes thrown in and also a pasta salad.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

