yes I do wanna be a cowgirl…

I spent the day tromping along South Congress St in Austin, which is an awesome area to spend some time, great food, great vintage, awesome eclectic thrift stores and YES boots… boots and more boots!

but the food… wow and loads of food trucks, outdoor seating everywhere and why not when its still 67F in winter, who the hell cares!

but the BEST BQ place in town… well actually just out of town is The Salt Lick, a humongous football sized restaurant that serves up brisket, ribs, sausages, smoked turkey and an array of sides… this is how we capped the night off.  Mr Weiss being ever the good sport and being vegetarian and all ate the sides and let me get my carnivorous fix.

and that is how they roll in TEXAS!

9 Comments

  1. Jill
    Posted February 10, 2012 at 8:29 pm | Permalink

    What! not a fried pickle in sight!! LOL
    Looks like yummy ribs, the Big H would enjoy those. I saw your pins in those boots…..

  2. jesika
    Posted February 11, 2012 at 6:09 am | Permalink

    When Andrew worked at Magnum they would order ribs from the Salt Lick for special occasions. We went to check it out when we were in Austin but it was closed for a function. Being of the Mr Weiss dietary persuasion I was quite relieved!!

  3. Posted February 14, 2012 at 5:13 pm | Permalink

    while you are spending time in TX, you should check out a supermarket called “Central Market”
    it does not disappoint. While you are in the market, you should taste every sample they have out. and don’t neglect the ‘dip bar’ and olive bar they have. I recommend their love dip. it is very good!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted February 14, 2012 at 7:39 pm | Permalink

      OMG I went there, it was amazing!! I saw stuff I’ve never found anywhere else, it was really cool and I can’t wait to go back.

      • Posted February 15, 2012 at 9:46 am | Permalink

        I lived in Dallas for a year. I haven’t been back since I left–about 8 years ago. I miss that supermarket every day!

  4. Posted February 16, 2012 at 11:45 am | Permalink

    So do I!
    I love thoes boots 😉

    By the way!
    What a beautiful and inspiring blog.
    Beautiful pictures!
    This is my first time visiting, and I will be back

    Have a nice day 😉
    Kristine

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted February 16, 2012 at 2:59 pm | Permalink

      hey thanks for your kinds words.. do stop by again!

  5. Stephanie
    Posted February 24, 2012 at 2:59 pm | Permalink

    I love those boots, did you buy them?!

    • thecatskillkiwi
      Posted February 25, 2012 at 10:19 am | Permalink

      I chickened out in the end… I needed a second opinion!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

